You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memoirs Of A Bus Stop - Constrained Writing Entry

You say you've talked to random people on busses? How awesome is that! :D
I do/did somewhat the same, only I've taken the train instead. Always hated busses for some reason.
Other than that, I think your story perfectly reflects a real life conversation with one of the elders. You definitely do have some experience ;)
They do seem to always talk about stuff as if you know what it's about (meaning, she mentioned Hector right from the getgo, didn't even explain who he was or anything)... Very well done!

Thank you very much for your entry!

Sort:  

Thank you so much, I was struggling to get realistic dialogue going so I ended up drawing heavily on personal experience. I love how candid people are with strangers, I have had a few conversations on trains but the real gems have been at bus stops. I had a really interesting conversation with an angry woman in subway a few weeks ago. She was complaining about nosing people she knew wanting her to tell them things and then launched into telling me sooo much personal stuff. There is something magical in the sanctity of strangers <3

I am so glad I did this, I often have stories with so little dialogue, it was really good experience. Thank you for the contest!

There is something magical in the sanctity of strangers <3

Yeah, very often do we more easily open up to perfect strangers than we do to our closest friends/partner/... . It's sad, really, isn't it? How we try and put up a barrier and not let the people we love inside... :|

Awesome! :D No problem at all! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68433.35
ETH 3735.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66