Constrained Writing Contest #30 - A new beginning

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago

"Hi, glad you could make it. I was getting worried."
"Yeah, sorry, I'm a little late, traffic's heavy."
"Don't worry, the important thing is you're here, I thought you'd leave me waiting like so many other times and I'd rather have a surprise for you."
"Mary, we agreed it was a simple meeting, don't tell me you set me up on a blind date again, really, I'm fine, I don't need you to be my matchmaker."
"I don't care what you say, it's been two years since Helen left, and you haven't been the same since then, and if I don't do it, that's what Fred friends are for."
"Oh Mary!!! You always do what you want, I don't know how your husband endures you, I hope this time it's someone nice, last time it was a disaster, your vegetarian friend, you remember her, right?"
"Ha ha ha ha, ha, like forgetting Megan and her stories, but no, I'm sure Lucy's gonna like it, so stop grumbling and let's just keep on waiting for us in the lounge."
"Well guys, now if we're full, it's who we were expecting, Fred, this is Lucy, she's John's co-worker, we've told her a lot about you, you know the rest of them."
"Hello, boys, how are you? It's nice to meet you Lucy, I hope you're not bored, they usually exaggerate when they talk.
"The pleasure is mine, and don't worry they only spoke good things about you, you can clearly tell they're very good friends"
"Fred, why don't you take Lucy to the terrace, they'll be more comfortable, they'll be able to talk and get to know each other a little better."
"Sure, Mary, whatever you say. Come with me, Lucy, please."
"And tell me how long have you known John and Lucy? we've been friends since we were kids and I've never heard of you."
"I really know them a little over a year ago, when I was transferred to the shopping department, John was a great support, because I was just going through a very sad time, then I introduce myself to his wife and we became good friends, she is very sweet and between the two helped me overcome my loss.
"Oh, I understand, if that's the way they are, it's one of their many virtues, they've been my support in difficult times too, I guess Lucy must have told you part of my story by now.
"Yes, she told me something, that's why she insisted on meeting you, according to her, since we've been through similar situations, we could understand each other and get along well, what do you think?
"To be honest I had my reservations, but I think this time Lucy was right, you seem to me to be a woman apart from very beautiful and interesting, I hope I also made a good impression.
"Thank you, for your words, you are very sweet, and since we are speaking honestly, I knew how you are, Lucy showed me a picture, I thought you were very handsome, so when I asked myself if I wanted to meet you, I said yes, without thinking too much.
"Hahahaha, ok, well, thank you, then, let's drink a toast to you and me, to this wonderful meeting, which will be the first of many that will bring us many good things from now on. Cheers, Lucy."
"So be it. Cheers, Fredd."


Sort:  

Yikes! Setting up a date for someone without telling them? That's a ballsy move. Not everyone would be okay with that.
It was quite hard to tell at times who was talking because you introduced more than two characters, but I made sense of it at last.
Everything else aside, I think you captured the "awkwardness" of the first meeting on a blind date rather well. Definitely happens all to often that the first few moments of getting to know someone get awkward.

Thank you very much for your entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51