You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Constrained Writing Contest #28 + Winners of Constrained Writing Contest #27

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

This one sounds right up my alley as one of my characters I live in a lot often has inner fights with who she is and who she's being groomed to be :) But at the same time, I'm a bit confused...

I'm not sure if what you want is someone suffering from multiple personality disorder, in which case, from what I've been led to believe, one personality would not remember the actions of another personality so I'm unsure how to enact that inner turmoil, or if its more someone having a fight between their shoulder-angel/demon so to speak.

Or maybe I'm thinking too much into it trying to be realistic... haha ~hides ~

Edit: I'm definitely overthinking it; pay no attention to me. :) ~hides again, feeling foolish ~

Sort:  

Golem from Lord of the Rings is a good example. 😀

Thats not really multiple personality disorder, which is where my confusion arose 😊 it's all good! I have a way to do this realistically ~evil cackle ~

Ugh.. I... am sorry for the confusion, and for not making it clear enough. I didn't know that doesn't quite qualify as a multiple personality disorder, though. Learn something new everyday, huh?

But yeah, what @foragingquietude said! :D

No, no. Don't be sorry, I'm sorry for not realising and having reality take over my fiction, haha. It's more of a schizoid disorder, the whole Gollum Syndrome thing. Sadly, there have been mental illnesses in my close family which is the only reason my brain got confused, too much real-world knowledge.

But! It's all good! :D I was over-thinking, and am ready to write! Haha.
I fell asleep last night with plans.... plans!!! :D I have Scrivener open right now!

Edit to add: Just in case you were curious at my thoughts - with Multiple Personality Disorder, one doesn't know of the other personalities. You can go murder someone, and then switch to another and have no knowledge of this except there is blood on your hands, terrifying you and confusing you. Though there are a couple of rare instances where one personality feels trapped and aware and unable to do a thing about it. Schizoid Disorders, there's a few variations, and it often gets confused with Multiple Personality, but they hear voices. It's not just a thought in their mind, they can -hear- the voice as clear as though it's another person talking, have a conversation with it, in many cases 'them' as there's more than one. And that's my ramble for today! LOL.

With multiple personalities, they aren't always unaware of each other... There is often one personality that is always aware of all the others. Some of the 'alters' can be completely unaware of others, some might be aware, but unable to control the others (like observing a TV show or whatever) and some can control/manipulate/take over.

As I was dealing with the issues, there were times when it became apparent through my boyfriend's observations, that I had personalities that I absolutely was not aware of (I thought I was literally just sleeping a LOT, but in reality I was up doing things, talking with him, etc) ANYway... long story. Just thought I'd chime in with my own experience.

(I have Dissociative Identity Disorder used to be called multiple personalities, although mostly integrated now, I have dealt with the whole lovely process before for years and was in therapy with others who had the same issue)

Thank you for sharing your experience... I'm sorry that I didn't get it completely right and if I offended. :(

I have more experience relating to the Schizoid Disorders; my dad was Schizophrenic and would experience the auditory hallucinations and the talking to himself, which was very confusing to experience as a child. I knew that he was ill, but I didn't really know what Schizophrenia was until I was an adult and started worrying that it was genetic. At the end he started taking on personalities, so to speak, the most memorable being when he assumed the identity of the man who lived next door and had passed away a couple of years beforehand, and tried to get into their house. But he had no knowledge of this and was aghast when we told him what had happened. That's annoyingly my main memory of the man now.

I'm not at all offended :) It's not a well understood thing from what I understand, and of course it varies. It's exacerbated by things like movies, but I feel like I actually have the exerpience to clarify, so I did.

That situation with your father sounds so stressful. My brother in law was schizophrenic and the different was 9very simplistically) explained ot me that multiple personalities are all inside your head, but schizophrenia was hearing voices from outside your head. In my BIL's case, he would see things outside of himself that spoke to him and he became terribly paranoid. He's spent some time homeless because he was afraid to go back to his government assisted housing because of his delusions. It is a sad thing and I just feel very fortunate that I was able to have the right support to deal with my own issues in a way that didn't destroy my life.

Thank you so very much for sharing this. I'm very sorry to hear this and I wish you all the best!

Actually makes sense, actually, and to just throw every "such disorder" in the same basket would do many people injust. Thanks for clarifying, but... well... I still don't know how to edit the post to make it "medically correct". :/

Oh, you don't have to! Haha. I'm the only ning-nong who didn't understand. xD Just, pretend I wasn't here ~waves arms around woOOOooOOooOoooOo ~ (But only forget this post, remember the one with the link in it, haha!)

My memory is actually pretty bad, so no promises on what I will forget, sadly. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87