You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memoirs Of A Bus Stop - Constrained Writing Entry

In the previous story of yours I saw, you had pickled cactus, right? and yet here you are are, if I'm not mistaken, in England? "Pet" is good - the north of England then, although "two weeks" instead of "fortnight" gives you away. Does that come from reading or experience? Again jumping nicely through the hoops you've been faced with. There's never any doubt who's speaking, not so easy to carry off in such a long, unbroken exchange. Well done, lass!

Sort:  

Thank you very much! I was a bit worried about that, so I am so glad you were able to follow it!

Ahhhh I am so impressed, I am actually from the north of England, I have lived in both Cheshire and Yorkshire, although I have also been listening to The Secret Garden on audiobook recently which has a lot of regional dialect. Although I hadn't noticed how much less I use the word fortnight, it must be because of the game and hearing it used for that so much. My Nana would definitely have said fortnight lol

I'm from Salford myself, now living in Cumbria (Penrith). So I take no credit for noticing, though I wonder how many of your US readers noticed your change of voice. How long is it since you made the change then - did you move when you were still very young? Don't quite follow your meaning about "the game". Am I being stupid?

It is an online shooting game that I believe is fairly popular right now, not that I have ever played it.

I grew up in Cheshire, went to uni in Yorkshire, and moved back to Cheshire, I am surprisingly under travelled, but I do watch tv from all over the world so I heard a lot of americanisms. My regional roots normally only show in my poetry, you must have heard of John Cooper Clarke being from Salford? I grew up with him and the liverpool poets like Brian Pattern. It is almost surprising what a great area it is for poetry and literature! Cumbria is such a beautiful part of england, the national parks are amazing to live near, I have visited a few times, not just for the kendal mint cake either lol

I'm now slightly confused about where in the world you are - which I suppose is the internet for you. I'd assumed the US (because of the pickled cactus) but now you say you've picked up Americanisms from watching TV around the world.

Tragically I'm only a few years younger than JCC and used to see him quite often around town when I worked in Manchester in the 70s - stick thin and Dylanesque, always on his own. Metaphorically we both grew up on:

Nowadays he's to be found being his drily humorous self on comedy panel shows and recently made an album of old-style covers with the guy out of the Stranglers.

Take care pet :o)

https://tinyurl.com/y8xbo8tj

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69345.27
ETH 3816.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67