Betsy - Constrained Writing Contest #15

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Constrained Writing Contest #15. You can learn more here.

Betsy.jpg

“Ahhh! This storm is so bad I’m spinning uncontrollably. I think I’m going to be sick!” I yell into the night as the lightning blasts powerfully across the sky and the thunder shakes the earth with a mighty rumble.

By daylight, the skies calm down and a rooster crows in the background. The sun starts rising above the horizon. This is my favorite time of the day. The sun throws a million different colors across the sky like a Thomas Kinkade painting. It’s peaceful.

Here he comes, on time as usual. The farmer always starts his day milking the cows. Their black and white bodies look so picturesque from up here. Wait, what’s this? He has come out of the barn and he is yelling for Betsy, one of the cows. Oh dear, I bet that storm last night scared her off. If only the wind would blow, I could turn around and help look for her.

Suddenly the leaves on the nearby tree starts to flutter. “A breeze!” I start to turn clockwise, as the moving air pushes me in a circular motion. I try to look for Betsy, but the breeze picks up, spinning me too fast. It finally dies down momentarily and I come to a stop. “Oh I see her! She’s over there!” I say pointing in an unhelpful direction. The farmer sees her too. He has gone out, grabbed her harness and is bringing her back to the barn.

All in a day’s work.

Footer2.png

Sort:  

Darn it! I don't know what this is called in English, but it looks a little something like this, right?

Yes! It's called a weathervane.

Yaaayyy! :D Good work with the story though! :D

If only the wind would blow, I could turn around and help look for her.

Then it suddenly starts blowing, and->

pointing in an unhelpful direction.

It broke my heart a little :3

I don’t k is what you’re called, but I can picture you.

Loved it ❤️

Oh that was good! How did you even think of that? I love how it pointed to the cow in the end! Awesome work!

Thanks. My husband and I have a small farm. I don't have one of them or cows, but I wanted to incorporate it some how.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71238.01
ETH 3865.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51