Constrained Contest Writing #15 - Watching Over me.

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

Her particular curves, brown skin glittering in the light. She stands there all day just looking at me, she never sleeps or at least I think she never does because anytime I touch her iron bangles you could call her handles, she creaks and this sound alone makes me conclude she doesn't sleep. She watches as I come into the room and alerts me when anyone else comes after me, even those that would want to cause me harm; the roaches, mosquitoes and other elements. In the heat of summer or cold of winter, she takes a major hit from the elements just so I don't get to feel the harshness of it. I pity her sometimes but she was built for it, her frame strong and thick where it should be, hung up in such a way to withstand the strongest wind. She's the first thing I see before I step into the room and the last before I go out. She watches me when I sleep, alone and cold. I'm sure she thinks of how long we've known each other and the heartbreaks we've experienced together. She just stands right there and watches unable to move except when I push or pull her which happens in just split of seconds and very rarely these days because I hardly ever go out. She can't be compared to any other. When I wake at nights and see the spark in her eyes caused by the reflection of the light. I smile because I can hear her clearly say, "sleep on son, I'm watching over you".

Sort:  

Hello.

Very nice description of a door.

Thanks. Means alot. At least one person saw it. My day is made.

Well done! I liked the phrase

In the heat of summer or cold of winter, she takes a major hit from the elements just so I don't get to feel the harshness of it.

Such a good door!

awesome door

While I thoroughly enjoyed your story, you didn't tell us the story from the door's point of view... you were describing the door as you see it, not as the door "sees".

Nevertheless, it was a very pleasant read! Thank you very much for your entry! :D

Very true, realized that too late. I wish I could change that now but....

You still wrote a very good story, so there's that! ;D
I hope to see an entry by you again next week? :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66