Coming Out of the Conspiracy Closet

in #conspiracy7 years ago

Image result for in the closet

I have a diverse selection of friends and family. Many of these people are firmly stuck in the worldview that citizens elect their 'rulers', that any suggestion of collusion behind the scenes on a mass scale is crazy, and that the world is largely the way the mainstream media explains it to us.

Broaching the topic of things such as False Flags, Rothschild Zionism, chemtrails, 9/11, etc. can be a largely fruitless endeavor with people. What I've learned is if a person does not want to consider the possibilities, they will vilify you for doing so. It's not just that they disagree with the ideas or concepts you are presenting, it's that they are completely opposed to discussing them in the first place.

And if you discuss anything conspiracy related, inevitably you are asked about the moon landings, or perhaps referred to being a follower of this guy:

Image result for alex jones

When I initially began to discover alternate possibilities of how our world operates, I also was quick to write off these possibilities as 'crazy' and completely unreasonable. 'But, someone would have told me! They can't possibly keep it a secret! You mean to tell me the entire government/media are in on the conspiracy?!'

Of course, this line of thinking can easily be dispelled when understanding how compartmentalization is used to prevent the left hand from knowing what the right hand is doing, and vice versa. But I digress.

This post is more about the experience of stepping out of the 'conspiracy' closet, and the process of doing so. When I initially came to realize many of the unfortunate aspects of our world, I wanted to inform everyone I knew of the 'truth'.

I thought I would be doing others a service by showing them the light, and I used every forum possible to blast this message out there. I went so far as to purchase a megaphone, and parade through my college campus, in attempt to wake others up (this probably didn't help the Alex Jones comparisons).

What ended up happening is that I alienated myself from a large group of my friends and family. Most people don't want their worldview challenged, and will find any way they can to avoid serious introspection regarding their belief system. I eventually tried more gentle methods, but to no avail. Ultimately, I came to the conclusion that people have to challenge their views on their own terms, and trying to do the hard part for others typically ends with them judging you as unhinged or crazy.

I now pick and choose who I talk openly with about these issues. If I sense that someone may feel a similar way, I will slowly ease into certain discussions before fully revealing my worldview. A large percentage of my friend circle inhabits the mainstream worldview, and I generally avoid discussing conspiracy-related issues with these people. Not every relationship needs to be based around sharing a similar worldview. I've come to terms with this, and I am able to maintain friendships with people I disagree with.

But sometimes, I'm still tempted to fully come out of the closet and tell people what I really believe about the world we live in. I'm not fully trapped in the closet, but I'm certainly not fully out of it either. The balance between being authentic and not alienating one's self is something that I am still figuring out.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64