The Earth is _____

in #conspiracy6 years ago

Now here's a topic that I keep seeing everywhere I go these days. With the current episode of whale wars going on I just felt like writing about a topic I found fascinating when I first heard of it a few years ago. The shape of our earth. This is probably going to take a while to write, and at the end of the post I will pretty much have said nothing because the answer is I don't know. Trust me, you don't know either.


src

The Earth. Is it Flat? Is it round? Was Pythagoras wrong this whole time?

As humans we tend to believe anything we are told. After all, everyone's been told that the earth is round. Now I wouldn't go labeling myself as a conspiracy theorist, but a critical thinker that analyses shit that's important and after hearing about this I began my "digging" journey (I won't go as far as saying it was research, but I certainly did some digging). I pretty much spent every waking hour digging around, reading and listening to other peoples facts and/or opinions. When it comes to these things, it's not about taking in any one truth as the whole truth but trying to triangulate the truth for yourself. My first opinion is that all of the time I wasted doing the research was a distraction from my own success but I learned a thing or two so I'm not regretting anything.

Don't take my word for it though, I quite frankly don't know what I'm talking about half the time.

I Approached with an Unbias mindset

Growing up as a kid I always heard stories, but stories was really all I heard. Whether it was something unbelievable like my friend experiencing a paranormal incident to things I was taught in school. I always wondered "Why don't I ever see any of this?" In a nutshell, I don't see it because I feel I am protected by God. (Yeah, I totally believe). So when it comes to conspiracy theories like lizardmen, the hollow earth, flat earth and others I tend to find it fascinating. It's like lifting a possible veil and seeing the world for how it is, or could be, for the sake of fantasizing about an abnormal world. This thought process comes from the gamer in me who wouldn't mind being a Super Hero with special powers/abilities. Whether all the conspiracy theories I've read about are true I can't say with absolute certainty. Let's just pretty much say I covered them all. I am willing to bet that there are a handful of them that are true. Falling into the idea that the earth was flat instantly sparked my interest in a fantastical way. This was at least 4 years ago and felt like the topping of my Conspiracy Cake with more than just one Cherry on top. Could it be true? I chose to sit on the fence with this one but I find it easy to come into these topics with an open mind.

Both Sides present a valid case and both sides contradict themselves

Both Flat Earthers and Round Earthers present arguments and examples that can make it easy for someone to be swayed into believing one or the other.

One example I always considered really got me was the flat horizon. Round Earthers argue that drawing a circle with a big enough radius and zooming in to a small portion of that circular line will appear to be flat, which is true and is what we experience. Flat earthers argue that you can't see a curve in the horizon line from any height. On top of this, the round earthers argue that if you go high enough you can see it. Some say they saw it from a mountain top. Some say they saw it from an airplane. Some say they saw it standing on the beach. What really makes me laugh is how Neil Degrasse Tyson explains that we are too small, puny and insignificant to see it. You have to go higher than an airplane to see it. He explains you pretty much have to be an astronaut to experience curvature. So when I say that "Both sides present a valid case" and your immediate response is "What the heck are you smoking on @bitfiend? Round earthers don't have to present a case, the earth is round!" it's because round earthers whom don't have any idea wtf they are talking about (just like I don't know what I'm talking about) are literally contradicting their King of Sphere's (Neil Degrasse Tyson) and this is not the only example I've come across.

Speaking of the horizon and curvature, I always wondered how those two words can go together in the same sentence. I mean look at it. Horizon has Curvature? horiz and curv?

Now I don't know about you, but a horizontal line is impeccably straight. No curves or bumps when it comes to those guys. The word horizon is literally a part of this word. Here's a horizontal line:


I just feel that if there was curvature to our horizon then it should have been called a curvizon but I guess we went with perspective when naming it. No problem. I can accept that.

In the case of flat earthers I think it's safe to assume they contradict themselves all the time. They also can't seem to agree if the earth is on a massive plane with hundreds of flat earths or if we're just one flat earth surrounded by a dome made of molten glass. I would love for either to be true but the multiple earths sounds remarkable. Are we on Earth 1? One example I can recall is how they say there are no satellites in space. Not one. zero. They're false. I remember watching a video on youtube and then scrolling through the comments where some guy linked this youtube video of an amateur rocket launch that gets "stopped" in mid air by the supposed dome claiming it was irrefutable proof that the earth was flat while arguing that satellites don't exist. Now the dome is supposdely made out of molten glass...so whatever this rocket is made out of that it didn't appear to have had any damage done to it after smacking into molten glass at however fast it was going, I want my car to be made out of it.

Where he lost all credibility was that video contains more than one satellite in it when the rocket reaches the top. Here's one that I think is probably a satellite and I point it out because they argue how can there be so many satellites up there and you can't even see one and here we have a satellite that you can see way off in the distance and it's not the only one.

(1:36 if you care to look yourself)

Not only was there satellites in the distance, but out of all the places they could have launched the rocket, they damn near hit a satellite. I wouldn't take that as a coincidence, but that there really are many satellites out there. You can even see two more off in the distance!

I could go on but what does it really prove? I'm just showing I've done some digging is all. When it comes to Flat Earthers, it's not hard to find a problem with their theory.

That the people arguing in this topic don't know what they're talking about

Heck, I don't even know what I'm talking about. At the end of the day, I'm not an astrophysicist. There are so many contradictions and arguments and F.U.'s while people who don't know what they're talking about are arguing with people who don't know what they're talking about.

There's no Telling.

So what is the shape? Well, in my opinion, there's no telling and I quite frankly don't care. I think this topic poses a distraction, as mentioned earlier. People are easily distracted and that's all this is because the people telling me that the earth is flat or that the earth is round have never even seen it themselves. That's right. Everyone arguing for either of these has never seen it with their own eyes. You're believing in something you've never seen. While I feel it's somewhat important to have a basic understanding of the shape of our earth, the only people who know for sure are certain key people within NASA that have actually been up there. Pictures are just pictures and even NASA admits that they are composites.

Seeing is Believing

So just because you saw a picture/composite, it must be true. According to Neil, you can't even see curvature from an airplane. Camera's have a curved lens and some have that whole fish-eye lens deal going on so even camera's being sent up there are in my opinion bogus and you're not seeing it with your eyes, physically but through a camera. Have you ever made your pencil or pen appear like it was made out of rubber by holding the middle with two fingers and waving it up and down? That's the effect the camera's give. It's an illusion. Just scroll up and look at the screenshots I provided of the satellites.... according to all three screenshots, the earth is actually a Donut! so when someone presents me a video with curvature, it's simply not enough. However; this doesn't mean that I necessarily believe the earth is flat either. What I do know is perspective. When it comes to perspective the earth appears to be flat. Shaq pretty much said this and the flat earth society went crazy, when Shaq was merely talking about perspective.

If I consider what the Bible says then to me the Bible paints a flat earth but we can say that it's just my opinion on what I read in the Bible and how I perceived it. (Specifically Genesis 1-20 if you're curious). People from both sides argue that the bible says it's round/flat. People on both sides also argue that the bible is wrong (We have believers and non-believers on both sides). I see those that believe in a magical sky wizard that you can't see with your own eyes get made fun of while each side believes in a shape of the earth that they can't and will never see. I guess they could if they signed up to be an astronaut...so in the sense of "Seeing is believing", everyone is believing something that they can't themselves see when it comes to the shape of the earth.

At the end of the day, nobody really knows but NASA. People can argue all day long but they don't know with absolute certainty and first hand experience and if I ask myself based on what I've seen, it feels and appears that we may be living on a flat earth, and I will never experience curvature, but I can't say that it's proof we live on a flat earth. It could be, depending on how you want to view this, but I can tell you, the reader, one thing. You will never experience curvature either. Some of you may think you have, but I strongly disagree. You simply haven't!

Now that fantasy gamer in me totally wants NASA to be lying and for the flat earth theory to actually be true. That would change everything!

Regardless of a flat or round earth, cryptocurrency is possible on both and that's all that really matters.

Have a great day/night/week/month/year/life!

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91