Admitting when you're wrong is important I think..steemCreated with Sketch.

in #conspiracy7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was a lil weird and I felt a lil bit hypocritical cause I shared something without fact checking it at all, all I did was read through the comments and then I assumed conclusions that were not true. I apologize. I don't pretend to be perfect. It happens. However that certainly reminded me to try to be more careful with what I post and share.

I think quality beats quantity in this case, and someone who screams foul all the time but never admits when he is wrong will eventually lose credibility much like the "Boy who cried wolf" story.

Plus.. I personally can't stand it when people can't admit they are wrong, so.. I try really hard to be humble enough to do so, once again.. I don't pretend to be perfect.. But I do try.

To any of you who may read this, I also suggest you make an effort to look into things you claim more, or at least.. Be more careful with your language, especially if you can't find the time to properly research or don't want to for whatever reason.. Then.. Perhaps say something like.. "I don't know if this is true or not" or.. "I didn't really have time to research this but I think this or that".. There's a shit ton of bs that's wrong going around and a ton of people share it without doing any research at all, they basically just funnel and share misinformation, which in my opinion is not healthy.

In this world of overwhelming dishonesty and ignorance, and now the new popular catch phrase of "fakes news".. I think it's more important than ever to try to verify what you can as much as possible, I mean it's always been critical.. But, I think when things evolve, you gotta try to match it or you'll be at a disadvantage.. And I think if your world view is full of inaccurate information, you're putting yourself at a disadvantage. Plus, the corrupt people in power probably love it when your world view is full of inaccurate information and when you're at a disadvantage. -.-

Sort:  

Well said! A real man/woman do apologize when he/she realize is wrong.

Fake news is a new catch phrase for an old idea: propaganda.

Thanks! :) I agree. And.. In regards to Fake news.. Perhaps. Though I think it has an extra twist to it the way the government has been trying to use it, it's almost like.. Double propaganda or something, heh. I dunno, it's hard for me to explain.

Leading by humble example. Not enough of this these days.

Not sure how much I'm leading, but I appreciate the gracious words! :) I agree though.. I meet a lot of people in my research that refuse to like ever admit they are wrong about anything.. And it makes discussion or debate a bit struggled at times with them. Though it's definitely refreshing when you do find someone who is willing to reflect a bit!

Thank you for your post. While I was reading it my daughter@camille1234 came to mind because her philosophy is "Always be impeccable with your word and fact check everything."

You're welcome. :) Sounds like you have a really smart daughter! That's awesome.

Thank you, I believe she is an example of the student surpassing the teacher.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.78 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59410.96
ETH 2658.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43