Xbox Series S - The little Engine that Can

in #console3 years ago (edited)

(Drawing I made of a Picture I took of my Xbox Series S) -

mySeriesS.jpg

  • I'm writing this one for fun, and also because I genuinely think the Series S is good value.

Let's start with the positive.

First of, it is $200 cheaper than the Series X and it plays all of the same games.

They both released on the same day and both use more or less the same cpu and gpu architecture.

The loading is ridiculously fast as they both use the same storage speeds.

So on to the negative.

For $200 less you lose a few things, small things u may not honestly care about. Now this may not be the case say 2-3 years from now if they really start pushing the limits, but i doubt it.

Anyways, for the Series S we get a tiny bit less cpu speed, a little bit less ram speed, and about half or a bit more Graphics Prowess.

Really what this means is, the Series S is more for 1440p gaming as opposed to full 4k. Even if you have a 4k tv and get the S, the games look crazy nice and load just as fast. (This is me comparing it to my PS5 and videos I've seen of it vs the Series X).

So the wee bit of less power is really for the loss of full 4k video display.

Another negative is u get less memory 512GB vs 1TB. So half the storage memory. (you can always buy and expand the storage btw)

So in the end the big difference really is, you get half the storage space and no 4k output.

You get more or less the same loading speeds, sometimes more...
Graphics so far look mostly the same. You get the same controller. They both work with Xbox Live and Gamepass just the same. I almost forgot, the Series S doesn't come with a disc drive. With most people buying games online and not physical discs it's not such a bad negative.

Another plus I also almost forgot is that the Series S is pretty much half the size of the Series X.

I'm happy with last years purchase of my Series S. Great Price. Much faster than older generation systems, including the so called updated ones like the Xbox One X. (If you look on youtube, some games load up to 40-50 seconds faster).

I didn't provide exact specs as they are very similar (the Series S and X) and they are easy to look up and compare. I just wanted to kinda explain it in laymans terms. For some this may help to make the decision easier.

This was a fun one to write, I hope I didnt simplify it too much. I just wanted to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42