Who Was the First Conservative?

in #conservatism6 years ago (edited)

I live in Utah. Utah can aptly be described as the most conservative state west of Saudi Arabia.

I've followed the health care debate for thirty years. My personal experience is that conservatives put down and silence anyone who talks about free market health care reform.

Free market reforms would challenge the big insurance companies that give conservatives their money.

Even worse, free market health care reform, reducing the role of big insurance, would liberalize the health care market.

Allowing people to directly negotiating their care with health care providers would liberalize the market.

Conservatives hate the term "liberal" with every fiber of their being. Conservatives automatically oppose legislation that would liberalize the market.

My experience for the last thirty years has been that whenever I say the words: "Free market" and "health care reform" in the same sentence; conservatives immediately shut down the conversation.

I finally decided to research the conservative movement. I asked myself two question: Where did conservatism come from and who was the first conservative?

(The first answer is super easy. The second question took a little bit of time to figure out. But once you thing about it, it is obvious.)

So, I thought I would ask @mepatriot and any conservatives on Steemit the two questions: Where the ideology of Conservative ideology come from? and Who was the first Conservative?

Allowing people to directly negotiate their care with health care providers

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66