You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ronald Reagan Was the Worst President: Why Tax Cuts For the Wealthy Destroy Economies

in #conservatism6 years ago

"Free to all by nature". How so? I took some of my wages (from being a "wage slave" I guess though I never really thought of learning a skill I enjoy and making money employing it as "slavery") and I purchased a house. No violence was used. It is impractical for someone else to use my home as their home (they same applies to a business). To attempt to do so would be initiating force, not the other way around. There are millions of landowners, I don't think land ownership is monopolized.

I know what you mean about necessary evils though. I think government and taxes are necessary evils which is why I think they should be minimized. If you really want free land you can still homestead though these days you have to go to Alaska to do it.

Sort:  

Naturally, money doesn't exist, neither do property rights, law enforcement, and courts to resolve disputes and enforce contracts. Naturally, land is free to all by nature. Exclusive land rights are an artificial product of social relations, created by society and its government(s).

The concept of natural law would say that property rights exist. Rights, as a concept, are a human concept but it doesn't make them not natural. Natural rights are more of a recognition than an invention. Even in nature, many animals are territorial and stake a claim to a certain area. If there is anything "unnatural" about it, it is the fact that humans typically handle the concept LESS violently than animals would. Social relations are natural among both animals and humans.

Naturally, land typically cannot be used by "all" at the same time. If I'm running a business and using a piece of land in the process (or using it for a home), someone else cannot practically come along and use the same piece of land for their business at the same time without displacing the first person. Exclusive land rights can only be natural, it's just a matter of how you enforce it. Every man for himself (which perhaps would be more "natural") or a system of laws to protect those rights.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67