You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Water leaked into the Svalbard Global Seed Vault after melting of permafrost in the area – the vault now needs to be upgraded in face of climate change!

in #conservation7 years ago

I would hate to be the only survivor of whatever worldwide disaster, living in Africa for example and I would have to walk all the way to this seed vault to get a crop of veggies going.
I doubt I would ever arrive there :)
What I dont get either is that scientists prolly know that climate changes through centuries in a natural way.
We had Iceages and warmer climates through time.
I wonder why this wasnt taken into consideration before building this vault.
Also whats the use of this vault to mankind if mankind would someday dissapear of the planet? Excuses for typos, English is not my first language :)

Sort:  

Haha, that would be an insane trip to get to it! The problem is that Svalbard is almost impossible to get to without a big ship or a plane as well, seeing as it's a remote island way north of mainland Norway.

Yeah, it is baffling to me as well. We all know the world is getting hotter, even without man-made changes, so this would have happened somewhere along the time anyway. I don't really get why they didn't plan better for this either :P

Well, it might not really have any uses if all of mankind disappears. I guess it's more used for a scenario where most of the humans disappear, but not all :)

Thanks for the comment, @openheart!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51