And Now The BBC Gets Itself Banned For 5 Years From Tiger Reserves In India!

in #conservation8 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

But in the facts, are the guards abusing from their status or not? That is the question I would at least want to read something about. The BBC people may have proofs, if they are right. Are these proofs part of the documentary (that I have not seen, which is the reason why I ask)?

From what I have read in the past, there have been shootouts with heavily armed poachers, who are also armed with more sophisticated weapons than the guards. This is a controversial topic but it is also not easy to get away with murder in India as we do have a robust legal system.

I too have not seen the documentary, but I guess they did catch something, because the trade in endangered animals has become so lucrative and profitable, that a few controversial "encounters" do take place which might look like abuse of power.

I see. Or at least I think I do. Thanks for enlightening me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76