A Whale's Cry

in #conservation7 years ago (edited)

a-whales-cry.jpg

A Whale's Cry

Through the cold dark morning mist there comes a sound
Chains & steel being lifted from the ground
A little town still lies asleep
As the hunt begins for the creature of the deep

Men dressed against cold all gather on deck
Their boat sails off and becomes a speck
A tension builds and inside the men it grows
Waiting for the captain to shout "There she goes!!”

A giant whale of the great ocean
Is startled by the noise and commotion
The sound of a bang and the breaking of flesh
The whale cries out and its blood is fresh

Another bang rings out, the whale takes its last breath
The final blow that brings with it death
The men with joy stand and laugh
The water around them now a blood bath

The life has been taken of something so great
And to do it all again the men cannot wait
Hacked into bits, nothing remains
Except another hunt for the steel and chains.

(This an original work.)


The above poem above is a sad tale that we as a species should have learned from; we nearly brought a great species to extinction by over hunting. We now face a similar problem with plastic.

I was fortunate enough to spend some time with the marine mammals at Seaworld in South Africa. The conservation of the marine environment is very close to my heart and I support my friends who have taken up the challenge of ridding our oceans of plastic and other pollutants that are causing chaos in the marine life cycle.

I have cleaned up my act by reducing the amount of plastic I consume within my household. I choose not to buy products packaged in plastic. I prefer to buy glass.

Do you think you would be able to do the same???

Massive change, starts with you.

Please leave some comments on what you thought of the poem?

(Pic credit: pixabay.com)

Sort:  

very deep words! It is truly sad how much we disrispect mother nature...
I will definately do my best to reduce my digital footprint and usage of plastic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55