Steemit, please no kill PC-Users. We needs our Keyboards and Big screens!

in #confusion8 years ago

We are in a state of confusion about the direction of STEEM, there has been contradictions between what @ned is communicating and what @sneak is communicating. That makes us investors... uneasy.

Dropping the PC/MAC-Users?

I was so sad so sad when I heard that the focus is 100% on mobile users and 0% on PC/MAC-Users when @sneak came to our beloved @steamspeak to inform us that he needed to hire developers to accomplish the roadmap that he wrote.

I am a Desktop/Laptop-User and I will be for life. Please no kill me!

I understand that cellphone-users/smartphone-users is a big market, and that we are going to be more "Instagram" in the future then a blogging-platform. Well, at leas that is what most of us is confused about.

We are about 500+ Users on @steemspeak now, and just a few of us use the cellp hone, some of us actually just bought a mechanical keyboard and a 4K 27" Display to have even more overview. Personally, I could never make a blog from a small phone, my hands and my fingers are way too big for that.

Please do not exclude old users and throw us in the trash. I want to be here forever

I was so sad so sad when @nate came into @steemspeak the other day and shared some articles with us that for a brand to grow, it has to abandon its early adopters. Does that mean we should pack our things and leave? But I like it here!


Where are the vision, the spunk - the spark that can give us the boost we need to look forward to a steemit-future we all can look forward to? What happened to confidential transactions? Private Messages between STEEM accounts? are they not important enough to address?

And onboarding users - @sneak says one thing - @ned says another thing - who can we believe in right now with all this confusion coming from @steemit inc?

Some comforting words of enlightenment from @ned & @dan would help a lot in silencing the grumblings among the people.

Sincerely, and in all friendliness
@fyrstikken
Just a normal boy from the country.

Sort:  

@ned The site should be designed out similar to how facebook is, then the mobile app should reflect the site imo. If we are going to have an integrated chat system similar to facebook, we should model the desktop site after that similar model. Many people stumble upon Steemit using google on a Desktop. I think its equally important to at least have a well fleshed out website with a fancy landing page, similar to how twitter and fb do it. Vote weight meter, etc there are a ton of things to add to the webpage.. The mobile app should reflect a well built out site. Once communities are added it should be equally as easy to navigate on the Desktop site as the Mobile. I also hope Steemit updates the logo soon. The sooner we get that sorted out the better. I also think video should be incorporated into the plan, in my opinion this is go big or go home. Some will use this platform to write, some will use it to post video. Some will use it to upload pictures. I have read some of the most interesting things on Steemit and a feature to bookmark those posts would be nice. Steemit could be a facebook,instagram,blogging site all in one if designed properly. For example, some people upload a ton of art to the site, it would be nice to have a place in your profile to view all the photos you have uploaded. Similar to fb/instagram. The ideas are limitless. Just some stuff for yall to think about. @ned @dan @dantheman

@ned @dan @dantheman , maybe Steemit could offer a custom social media experience, an all in one platform... customize your profile. Maybe some want a blogging type profile, some a Instagram type profile ... some only video blogs. There would be different trending pages, different communities. Some similar to reddit, others similar to Instagram/tumblr? These are just random ideas in my head, I hope they make some sense or give you some more inspiration/ideas.

And some other want a combination of all of it. They want to write, to blog, to vlog, to socialize, to scam, sneak, to peak, all at the same time!

Options never hurt!
I was 16 when I was invited to Pittsburgh Art Institute solely based on my flash website which allowed you to change the themes and background, basic stuff, had some music, simple portfolio I made.

A lot of opportunities that are awaiting us @ned!

I am still missing the PC which I'm trying to get Microsoft to fix. Even working on a laptop now is restrictive in crafting the post. I'm resorting to trying Linux boot with enough frustration from Windows. Seriously, it will be difficult to write on a mobile. Even in the earlier days of resteem (or reblog when it first came), I was using mobile to upvote in the morning and end up resteeming couple of times.

I feel you brother. I am a Keyboard-Warrior, born and raised. Cannot blog without my ten fingers. I do not even send SMS.

It's all about that voice-to-text. ;-)

With my broken English? Are you kidding me?

......... been wanting to do more of that but on phone it's a bit of killer unless you have unlimited data.

Voice to text???

Yes, i thought that voice goes up the network then translate to text which comes back down.

I learn touch typing several years ago but pick up and love the swype on my android phone......

I really hope they are not leaving us bloggers behind. It's one of the avenues that attracts users to the platform and as @thejohalfiles said surely there's a way create a synergy between the website and mobile site as FB, twitter or Instagram have. And in doing so offer a home for blogs, videos or just photo uploads. I also agree that there are some brilliant articles here, it's become my go to place for insight on all topics and I think that should be valued and enhanced not sidelined in any way. @ned I hope you can shed some light

I attempted once to publish my little blog via my phone and, hell no, I'll never do it again. Believe it or not, there is a good bit of researching to be done to produce my little blog, depending upon the word selected, and it is tedious trying to do it on a phone. I can't imagine attempting a more complex blog! Egads! Even curating can involve research and doing so on a mobile device is cumbersome, at best. No thank you. PC/Mac or die for me.

linux is good too, but yeah I'm not waiting 20 years for phones to catch up and I'm not going the Windows route of dumbing down my platform for the extra users. Desktop OWNS any day. Best platform for CREATION of material or at least reworking producing of content. others are just lame. .

I couldn't do my report on the phone it would just be impossible, or the Badges.... I would quit and powerdown, thats for sure.

Yeah I was going to ask can you say how much users are on phone and how much on pc for the authors at least, I doubt that's logged but still it's a good question. The other would be how many votes are bots :D the platform feels like it's dying and all too soon, new people are joining and the old ones are gone, it's like life but you die in your 20's so kids grow up with parents for 7 years and there are no grandparents :D is it time to welcome in the phone mentality with their 3 second attention span. Phone is ok for reading, but overall lacks in everything even reading. It would be nice to make development for Kindle as far as I'm concerned at least people read there and don't just blindly click likes.

I had no idea this was even a debate. I'm also a pc user and I couldn't imagine formatting an entire steemit post on my phone or tablet. As a matter of fact, I don't think I would. I really hope they don't drop PC support, it would be a huge mistake.

They would lose the game completely or at least what the starting idea was. No PC no content.

Don't worry @fyrstikken, by the time they decide to eliminate PC/iMac users, you will have a smart phones with 4K 27" display and voice control ;)

Good post. I think that a lot of people here a using laptops. And most of older users like to actually read. Younger generation can't keep eyes on any thing more than couple of seconds. And in addition to fat fingers a lot of people have also problems with eyes. Steemit on cell- never for me!

Is this true? I only use a PC, I'm old and can'r see my phone well enough to use it. Do I need to sell off my Steem???

Like most things, I just merrily go along and when there's a bump in the road I will either climb it, go around, or turn back. I'm probably one of the very few that only has a phone phone -- and I only use it for calls. I have an iPhone hand-me-down connected to wi-fi only and used for apps. And no other mobile devices. I would be lost if Steemit was not Desktop/Laptop (PC) friendly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73