The Confidence Project Entry 1: Identifying My Area/s of Focus

in #confidenceproject6 years ago (edited)

When I first read the blogpost written by @thegaillery about her squad's confidence project, I eagerly checked it out. The squad's heartfelt advocacy automatically sank right through my heart -- initiating small steps that will guide other steemians (including me) towards attaining or developing self-confidence. And being a single unit of society, I am subconsciously aware that I can be part of the change in the improvement of our self-confidence. Being part of this project is truly overwhelming and hopefully you'll read my entry in their first confidence project.

Source

I have listed down three of the areas I want to improve on with corresponding activities for a systematic way of monitoring self-improvement. I have come up with C.O.N.F.I.D.E.N.C.E. as essential keys to follow to attain and develop self-confidence.

Areas to ImproveActivities
1. Writing SkillsCreate a daily journal
Organizing thoughts
Never quit
Feel free to ask for assistance
2. Communication SkillsInteract
Develop better gestures
Engage more
3. Leadership SkillsNotice every single detail
Create more leaders
Encourage everyone

Writing Skills

  • Create a daily journal.
    Source

By creating a daily journal, I will keep track of my to-do-list. In doing so, systematic approach on planning and time management will be applied. And also, keeping a journal serves two purposes: 1. permanent record for posterity, and 2. cathartic release for the people writing them.

  • Organizing thoughts

Source

A well-organize mind saves you a lot of time and effort. With so many thing in our mind -- traffic congestion, air's humidity, late deductions, LQ's and etc, organizing our thoughts would surely help you write better. Nothing beats a calm mind.

  • Never quit.

Source

Sh*ts are gonna happen and we'll surely encounter a couple of hurdles in our life but what's more important is our persistence. We should not quit. Not just yet.

According to Ted Turner, "You can never quit. Winners never quit, and quitters never win."

I personally believe this would boost my self-confidence for it will push me more and even beyond my limits.

  • Feel free to ask for assistance

Source

We cannot always rely on ourselves, and that's a fact. So, I have included this on the things I have to do to improve my confidence in my writing skills.

As what Ramakrishna once said, "As long as I live, so long do I learn."

Communication Skills

  • Interact

Source

I sometimes find myself in a socially-awkward position and thus diminishes my confidence by 25%. I tend to stutter a lot so I'd like to practice more via interacting with other people. Interactions doesn't just limit to my personal group of friends because Steemit has now gone big making way for a number of Steemeet-ups. hehehe And I'm just too happy to be able to test how far have I been through communicating with other people.

  • Develop better gestures.

Source

I can be really awkward sometimes especially with the way I position my hands. I have observed many speakers and they do look credible and smart. So, I have thought of having to improve this area in order to boost my confidence. You might as well need these advice.

  • Engage more.

Source

Engaging with others is different from interacting. Interacting is more on communicating while engaging on the other hand is focused on being part of others lives and decisions. And it's agreeable to say that if you have engaged more, you'll no longer worry about the stage freight and tongue twists.

In my quest to improve my communication skills, I promise to slowly subside my social-awkwardness.

Leadership Skills

  • Notice every single detail.

Source

I'm not saying a leader has to be Obsessive-Compulsive, I mean noticing the tiniest effort your subordinates had offered and even the slightest signals of planning and organizing. I strongly believe that a leader should posses this trait. Sadly, I might have to really improve on this area. hehehe

  • Create more leaders

Source

I couldn't agree more.

  • Encourage everyone

Source

I am not good at comforting people because I tend to tell things bluntly straight to their faces but recently I have observed how encouragement words help other people. So, I have thought to include this in my long list to attain the level of confidence I need to improve my leadership skills.


With the above mentioned points, I am looking forward to take another step forward in boosting my self-confidence. Thank you @thegaillery for this great initiative. If you haven't join the contest yet, click here. Good luck everyone!

Declaring abundance in your 2018,
@nikkabomb

Sort:  

Your steps are really detailed. And I especially like what you did with the word play. Hope to see you be more confident!

Wow thank you for admiring my impromptu steps hahaha.

That's why I'm starting to love steemit almost in a level I do with facebook, simply because I get across such very amazing useful articles like this. I've been a man of low self esteem and self confidence so I'll try these tips and see if these work - I'm sure they will.

Wow! I'm glad you're actually saving these tips @caratzky. God bless! yeeee!

dzaaaaaah nagamit gyud ang subconsciuosly na word hahahahaha
You're amazing niks! Looking forward to the more confidently beautiful bomba!

hahahaha perting gamita! hahaha. Salamat @smaeunabs. hahaha

hahaha welcome niks

This is awesome @nikkabomb! It's smart what you did here, I can say that you're an organized person and systematic at that! Congratulations on identifying your areas of focus 😁

Thank you @thegaillery! This is really a great initiative.

Nice post 😁 kababayan

salamat kababayan 😊

Aja @nikkabomb! Such a great courage you have there in digging deep in yourself that you come up with all these areas of focus. <3

It was way too difficult than I have imagined. Honesty with oneself is the greatest key tho. hehehe Thanks @namranna and congrats on all your achievements! Aja for more! 💕😘

Two thumbs up @nikkabomb ! Bookmark na this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65692.16
ETH 3511.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53