An Ex-Smoker´s Confession: It Was Chic, Cool And GlamoroussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #confession7 years ago (edited)

It´s been six months that I haven´t touched a cigarette now.

To quit smoking was probably one of the most difficult challenges I´ve ever faced in my life.

It was definitely easier to start than to stop.

Juvenile Temptations

I was 16 years old when I smoked my first cigarette. 

It was as essential accessory of a photo shooting, a fashion item, something nobody worried too much about.

If I knew that this little something was supposed to have such an impact on my future wellbeing, I swear I hadn´t ever touched it. 

But we were young and innocent. 

Now we are young-at-heart but wiser :)

Smoking is probably the most unnecessary activity of all.

There was a time smoking cigarettes was supposed to be an elitist accessory. Just remember the fifties. There were no role models without tobacco: Politicians, high society members,
actors in front or behind the camera, presenters, hosts, men and women of all ages.

It was chic, glamorous, fancy, cool, sociable and recommended to practice everywhere at any time. It was.

With time comes knowledge. 

Nowadays we are quite aware of the dramatic long-term consequences smoking is able to cause. Fortunately, more and more restrictions are applied in this context: smoke ban at public places, advertisement restrictions, etc.

It´s probably one of the few areas where I absolutely appreciate regulations.

After uncountable efforts to quit, frustrating fall-backs and repeated attempts I finally managed to find a way out of the dusty cloud. 

Here I am, healthier and happier than ever. 

So: don´t. Don´t try to be chic like that. It´s not :)

Marly - 

All pictures found on pinterest.com

Sort:  

I quit smoking on April 1978, when you were probably not born yet.

And I agree, it was much more difficult to quit than to start.

For more than a year, I was tempted to smoke again every day, each time I was around smokers. Then, the temptation disappeared progressively.

I was born a few years later, yeah :)
You were tempted to smoke during more than one year? Wow, you must have an extraordinarily strong mind though. To me a month felt already endless.
Congratulations on your bravery and thanks for sharing your story!

Wow, congrats!!
You like to share what you did the first days and weeks whenever you wanted a cigarette so badly? I try to quite myself, but seems to fall into the trap of smoking 1 a day to make it easier and then after a couple of weeks am full on again.

Thank you!
Sure. I kept myself busy. Usually the idea of smoking lasts about 30 to 60 seconds. It´s like a flash that suddenly appears but then disappears in the same way. If you overcome these flashs constantly, you can make it. The key is to find alternative activities meaning that you have to replace your habit of smoking by others. Coffee = cigarette? Waiting = cigarette? Phone call = cigarette? Break through these connections and build new ones. Coffee = cookie. Waiting = singing. Phone call = note pad. After a while (usually starting after one month) you completely forget about your old habit. That´s it :)
Best of luck!

Thank you! The theory I know, even read the book by Allen Carr. First days I have continious nagging; 1 cigarette per day helps here; but I guess I was not making myself too busy. Next attempt I'll book my first days from start to end 100% with things to do.

Yeah, do that. A good planning is everything here :) It has to be the perfect moment. But don´t wait too long either. Every day counts.
You´ll make it, I´m sure!

Why did you stop?

Sports and smoking don't like each other. I hated that fact that I needed to stop surfing after an hour since my lungs were burning. Now I can easily surf for 3 hours 😉 I liked smoking but couldn't stand the side effects. And you? Are you a smoker?

No, I don't smoke....but don't do much sport either.

Oh I couldn´t live without it. If I don´t do any sports during more than 4 days I go crazy (and my environment suffers accordingly) :D

I think quitting gets easier every time I try.

Lol, joking of course. Its an utter bastard. The one thing that keeps me off em is how one time I was standing outside my office smoking and chatting to a guy who was also smoking and he lamented how there were less and less of us standing outside smoking and I guffawed and quick-wittedly bellowed Of course they are, its a DYING art! He stared then looked a bit sick and threw his cigarette away and stomped off and I likewise stood there and stared at mine and thought hmm, that wasn't really funny just kinda true and since then I have been relatively good

Haha, yeah I know that joke well. Have told it by myself several times :D
I totally know what you mean by these silent smoker´s moments. My key experience occured at an airport. Do you know these isolated glass cases they have installed for smokers there? It was surely one of the worst moments in my life. That´s how animals in captivity might feel. There were some kids on the other side of the window staring at me while I was taking a drag on my cigarette. It was so embarrassing!
You do well being relatively good :) It´s everything but easy.

Oh those perspex boxes of smokey shame!! Yeah they are awful. I felt the same when in those.

The killer is that the marketing has the image that it is cool ingrained so heavily that you know it is bad but still feel cool when you do. Madness

Oh yeah, I can absolutely relate. I felt incredibly cool all the time, haha


Hi @surfermarly, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Oh that is awesome, thank you very much for your ongoing support @shadowspub. It´s highly appreciated! :)

It's not easy stopping any habit and smoking is a tough one. Hang in there.

Quitting smoking is the hardest thing I've ever done.

YES. I couldn´t agree more. It requires 1,000% mental power. Naaah let´s better say 2,000% :)

Congrats on quitting, it's definitely for the better of your health and those around you.

Thank you! Yes, it is.
The side effect I enjoy most is that I have MUCH more energy doing what I love most: surfing! :)

That would be a very critical activity to have some extra energy to work with! Rock on :)

I just want you to know.

I'm reading this while I'm smoking.

Ha! So you´re not sexy at all :D
I can totally relate. I have been doing that for a while, too...

My avatar is sexy and you know it.

Since #confession is the main tag of this article... I admit it.
Your profile in the chat isn´t too bad either ;)

Me too @schattenjäger
and I don't care if I am sexy 🙀
I've done worse @surfermarly 😜
Anyways ....congratulations of staying healthy! Good for you

Quality of life is everything dear Marly @surfermarly. Beijos para você ;)

You are absolutely right. Thank you very much @jsantana! :)

Congrats on 6 months! I have heard from others that it is insanely hard!

It´s the worst thing I´ve ever done :D Seriously.
Thank you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85