Gasping at the Threshold. An Out of Body Experience

in #conciousness5 years ago

So, to preface this, I have had several self induced OBEs (or as some people call it, astral projections) in the past. To clarify what I mean by this, I use a 'Wake back to sleep' method to trick my body into sleep paralysis so I can have full conscious control of my facilities and dreaming mind. (Or maybe it's another world who the heck knows) It's similar to a lucid dream but a step up in realism.

This on it's own may sound like a glitch, and it sort of is, but anyone can do this, my glitch occurred during an attempt at 'separating' from my body, a well known step in the process.

To describe the steps and how they feel: (many experience some of these naturally without realizing, so maybe you'll learn something about yourself here)

  1. The waking sleep is the first step. This is usually in the early morning, when you're thinking about your dream or how you're laying in bed without waking up. You're aware your sleeping but not really awake or in control. We often forget these periods of time.

  2. From waking sleep you can sink into the vibration stage. It starts as a buzz in your jaw, near the base of your spine and spreads. You feel yourself loosing control as it spreads, shaking louder, like bees in your bones rattling until it's not a sound or feeling, JUST a vibration. It's terrifying, and passing through this step to the next is what I call "Crossing the gate". It feels very much like sinking, in fact if you've ever suddenly felt yourself falling before goign to sleep and tugging yourself awake suddenly, that's this step. Normally, your body just goes to sleep, but if you can surrender and let yourself pass across this weird vibrating line conciously, you have control.

  3. Separate, roll out of your body. I feel like a slime more than a solid when this happens, like I'm strands tugging off of my body, I can physically feel myself sitting up, I can see things (usually inverted color of what is actually around me) and you can act and you have control. You can fly, you can do whatever.

Now, My glitch happened between parts 2 and 3. I know the secret, surrender, but that doesn't mean I don't still get scared.

I tried to hold on, feeling my physical body loose control, arms barely lifting in the air as I tried to fight the feeling of sleep paralysis in my own hubris. I was too afraid to give up control to get my reward but, I still knew the feeling so I pushed. I felt the vibration move up and down my body, almost like I had my tongue in a wall outlet, numbing parts of me physically and removing physical abilities as the paralysis sporadically effected me. At the same time I could feel parts of myself almost twice, Lie i'd have two right arms, one would be paralyzed and slowly sinking, the other stuck like a goopy gluey ghost trying to break free as my physical body flailed on the line. I felt myself sinking and re-surfacing, like gasping for breath while drowning right at the surface.

It was horrifying, I could tell I was moving in bed, I couldn't wake up either though, I was too far in to escape without either falling asleep or giving in, both being terrifying prospects at this point as my ego begged for it's life. The crossing is a sort of ego-death you see, you vanish for an instant, just an instant though, and then you're free. But I wanted both, I felt like my soul and body were thrashing in different directions all while my eye lids freaked out, opening and closing half way, flickering. My vision changed from the real room around me to dreams, to that weird inverted vision, almost like a mental filter was being put on the real world, a dream overlay, everything distorted, my senses blurred, I could see the feeling of the vibration, my vision came and went and I couldn't see but could still 'see' as if only my subconscious was getting visual data. I saw distorted people, faces, hands reaching out to pull me through though I couldn't move in any way mentally physically or even by imagining it, all I knew was I didn't trust them, I could feel it, their presence like a soup or cream. I could feel the sheets on occasion as my physical senses dipped back into reality, but on the other end, my ghost limbs or whatever you'd call them would go through these floating pools, or seas of all encompassing static. All my senses were overwhelmed by a buzz, sight sound, taste, feeling, hearing, all merged into one sense beyond the gate, the strands of the real worlds stimuli frayed at the line, reaching back out into the real world. I swear I could feel how they connected and touched, what sight and sound have in common, it made sense to one half of me but not the other.

I continued to gasp at the threshold for about 30 minuets before I was able to thrust myself up in bed, gasping and feeling motion return to my limbs, the horrifying feeling of the paralysis fading back to the base of my neck as I panted and thought "Now I know exactly what a computer glitch feels like"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82