Fathomless Depths

in #conanexiles7 years ago (edited)

"In my wanderings, I have found myself confronted by so many mysteries and none of which answer the questions that continue to arise. I have heard the Obelisks, some painted in red, some green and some blue. Is there significance? I do not know. Sadly… or perhaps predictably, I have come across few people, so my sojourn here has been a silent one, even as my mouth and tongue healed from what had been done.

I will forever resent the foolish choices I made, turning my skill in the trades requiring numeric specifics and language not common among others. I had traveled all over Shem, chiefly as a trader of armor and weaponry, precision was demanded. It meant I also had to communicate with them all, even if it meant hiring a translator.

This brings me to the present; now, after travelling many places here, I stumbled across a group of people carrying odd lights. They seemed worn, afraid, maybe even desperate. Knowing nothing of their troubles beyond “The City all Roads Lead To”, my surprise deepened when I recognized their features for what they were; Khitai. I had rarely met them in person and every time it had been for trade. Nevertheless, my translator had slowly become a friend travelling with my caravan, filling my ear with a few tales.

But here I find myself wandering, don’t I? Yes.. yes I do; like my wandering footsteps in the sand, yellow to red, and back again. I found myself listening to the hum of some giant fire bellowing temple today. Not far off was this peculiar group I’d come across, though on their opposite side. I wondered if they had even seen it, or better yet, HEARD it.

So now I find myself sitting on the lip of a huge onyx stone maw, the same kind the “City” is made of, but this time… below me wanders a withered dragon of formidable size. Skeletons wander the upper floors of the pits interior and one can’t help get the feeling that this is a place where the cruel creators of this place had their sport, tossing us mortals in for the spectacle of it.

I am wandering in thought again, I have to find a new bolt hole before night falls.

~ A leashed wanderer."

Once again, this is written on a piece of smooth bark, the inside composed neatly and coupled with the other written before it.

Sort:  

great post as always .. thanks

Congratulations @prosaicprose! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @prosaicprose! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90