Meet Claptrap - My Frankencomputer made from spare/junk parts

in #computers7 years ago

This is Claptrap, my "new" computer.

As you can see he's pretty fancy.


Jokes aside this is a computer I built almost entirely from spare/junk parts from work. The only real cost I have sunk into this computer so far is a 4GB stick of RAM, which only set me back around $30.

My primary intent for this machine was something to hook up to my bedroom TV to stream Netflix, YouTube, etc over. though I've come to find out that the motherboard, originating from an OptiPlex 990, doesn't have built in WiFi, so I need to get a wireless card.

So another ~$30 in and I'll have spent only $60 on a streaming system, which seems pretty good to me since most streaming devices are not too much cheaper and don't run full operating systems.

Other Uses

My secondary motivation for building this was to run BOINC and earn Gridcoin in the process. I'm running an i5-2500, and am getting 4,210 Whetstone and 74,609 Dhrystone from BOINC's benchmark.
As far as projects go, I'm running Rosetta and SRBase and am curious to see where my RAC tops off at.

Full Specs

For those interested, here's the full system specs and where the parts originated.

  • CPU: i5-2500 - Random drawer of parts (A coworker found this one for me)
  • Mainboard: Intel CN-06D7TR-73604-1CT-00LR-A01 - Pile of garbage parts (Had some bent pins, I bent them back and haven't noticed any issues)
  • PSU: Dell 250W power supply - Random drawer of parts (Only PSU whose plugs worked with the board)
  • HDD: 500GB WD Blue - Spare drive given to me with a Poweredge 750
  • RAM: 4GB DDR3-1600 Crucial Ballistix - ~$32 at Microcenter (CPU limits speed to 1333, they didn't have lower speed in stock)
  • Case: Dell Optiplex 9020 - Motherboard was dead, destined for trash (Got a free i5-4590 though)
  • OS: Ubuntu 17.04 - It's free

That's all for now. I'll probably post some updates on how well his RAC turns out.


If you want to learn how to benefit science while earning crypto, check out the Gridcoin Getting Started Guide.

You can tip me GRC at: RxSNgLKUNNGa4PXb4Cpg2dXyqvRBfvEVt2

Sort:  

You could further reduce the power usage if you switch to using an USB stick for the OS instead of the HDD.

Great build log though :)

Thanks: ) I'm not too concerned about power usage, and might end up doing something else with the computer so having the extra space would be handy.

@trikkstar
Great content!
Thanks for sharing!

nice work! the name is great :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.23
ETH 2335.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52