Early 2000's gaming computer

in #computers7 years ago (edited)

I was at my uncle's house one day looking around the garage. On one desk was an old gaming computer that hadn't been used in years. I was previously thinking of building a gaming computer and needed a case. He just so happened to have an empty case and he gave me the old gaming computer. He said it was built around the year 2003, so I developed a plan for it. I cleaned out all the dust from the past decade, backed up some old pictures and installed windows xp onto it. Surprisingly it was running windows 7, just with a noticeable performance decrease. I have a couple old games lying around on my shelf that I can't use on my current computer. So the reason I installed windows xp is so I can play these old games. My plan is to have three computers. One for current day gaming in 2017, one for gaming in 2009, and one for gaming in 2003.
Here are some pictures and information on the guts.

Side fan on case


Side view

Rear view

This computer is a 32 bit system with 1gb of ram and has a 160 gb hard drive. The graphics card is an old style Gigabyte Ati radeon 9600 series agp 8x interface and has 128 mb of video memory. This graphics card is somewhat special because the technology used in this card is not in use today.

The Gigabyte Ati Radeon 9600

Some old games I have

Inside the case

The $588 brains of the operation is an Amd Athloon xp 3000 + processor. The processor has one core at a speed of 3000 mhz and is a 32 bit chip. It fit into a 'A' type socket. The motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-7N400 that supports DDR400 dual channel memory.

The motherboard without the graphics card and heat sink fan. What is not used anymore is the Accelerated Graphics Port, or AGP for short. That's the green slot under the heat sink. The AGP was a graphics card connection port to the motherboard, instead of the traditional PCI port. But by 2004 it was being dominated by PCI and has phased out since.

Sort:  

We have come a long way. Thank you for sharing!

It takes back to the past! Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90