Computer trouble

in #computers6 years ago (edited)

My old computer decided to alert me that one of the hard drives was failing last night. On the one hand, it's great to get a warning. On the other hand, it completely changed my plans for the night. It wasn't the partitioned OS drive, fortunately, and I had recently bought a 128GB USB thumb drive. Unfortunately, it was a 1 TB storage drive for all my media, and my USB drivers had glitched so the USB 3.0 ports wouldn't work.

warning-27899_1280.png
Image credit

I started by backing up all of my documents and a lot of my audio library to the USB stick. Then I went on a search for the 1 TB SSD I had bought some time ago for my new computer. I found it, installed it in a laptop drive enclosure, and formatted it overnight. I also got the drivers updated while the first stage of backup took place. Now it is backing up the entire drive via USB 3.0.

I have another external drive that has most of my important data on it, but this seemed like a good opportunity to begin finally setting up my new media drive for the new computer anyway. So far, it looks like I will be able to recover everything before the drive actually gives up the ghost. And multiple backup options is good insurance regardless. If you don't already have data backup measures in place, address that TODAY!

Sort:  

Yikes, I hate when things like that happen. I use Backblaze online backups in addition to external hard drives. I love the peace of mind, knowing everything is backed up just in case.

Good advice, I keep a 1Tb external drive, and do a backup every few weeks.

I am glad you were warned in advance, it really stinks when you are Not warned, ROFLOL!

Be blessed!

:)

At least it warned you lol

I've had this happen to me as well, and I've likewise been caught with my pants down. At least you had a backup drive that you could format and transfer data to. I had to go out and buy one. Pays to have spare parts, amirite?

Especially when STEEM was converted to BTC to pay for it during the crypto bubble!

Why did you need to format the 1tb SSD overnight? It should have been a matter of seconds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66