From CP/M to DOS to Windows to macOS

in #computers7 years ago

Lately, more and more friends and family are changing their Windows computers/laptops for Macs. I must admit I've always been a "Windows-guy", but the older I get, the less I feel the need to tweak my computer and software.

I think I started considering Apple as an alternative to Microsoft, when I got my first iPhone in late 2008. I found it easy and intuitive to work with and introduced me to the Apple ecosystem.

Apple deciding to switch to an Intel x86 based architecture in 2006 was what made me consider it a worthy alternative to my good 'ole custom-built Windows PC. Before that, most software (and games) I was using on Windows had no good alternatives on Mac.


A bit of (personal) history

The first computer I really used was a Kaypro 10. It featured an 10MB internal harddrive and was released in 1983. This computer I used to write my first programs in MBASIC.

I still own this one to this date! When I have some spare time, I'll do a video to see if it still works ;)


Kaypro 10
© Soupmeister - https://www.flickr.com/photos/soupmeister/5236380180/


After the Kaypro, I was playing Flight Simultator and some great 2D games (forgot the names, but it was something resembling Pacman and a game with rockets) on an IBM PC AT with a screen that could only display green pixels.

© old-computers.com
© Wikipedia

Then came Windows 95!


Windows 95 box
© Wikipedia

I still remember we went to the computer store with the whole family to buy this beast; An Escom Pentium 100MHz with 8MB RAM, a 1GB harddrive and quad-speed CD-ROM drive, running the just released Windows 95.

Wow! Mind blown!

I believe that this is the point where PC's became accepted for mainstream use. A lot of less technically inclined people could use a computer because of Windows 95, and I think this has been an awesome achievement of Microsoft.

At this point in time, there was still no real internet access though...


Fast-forward to 2014

I finally saved enough money to buy a macBook Pro, yay! After 3 laptops dying on me in the past 2,5 years, I was fed up with this crap. I wanted an Apple. Period. Money was an issue however, so it wasn't before the end of 2014 that I could actually buy one.

Mind blown, again!

I'm grateful to be able to use Windows from the "early" days (there were a few versions before 95), but this was like entering a whole new world!

Everything. Just. Works.

Out-of-the box. No hassle, no tweaking, no weeks of configuring settings, no reboots because of software crashing... you get the point.


Final words

Maybe, someday, there will be another mind-blowing experience, but for now I'm as happy with my computer as I can be. If you're a gamer or hardware tweaker, this might not be your cup of tea, but for me as an old dinosaur, this is awesome!

IMG_0039.JPG


Me and my fellow blockbrothers are a witness as @blockbrothers. If you want to support us we would appreciate your vote here. Or you could choose to set us as your proxy.

Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

As blockbrothers, we build Steemify, a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.
Get it Here:


Sort:  

Nice!
This was my first computer! The Sony MSX Hit Bit

image

I felt the same way the Macbook I bought in 2006. Windows was a nightmare back then. XP was mmmkay and then Vista was a disaster. But unfortunately it didn't hold up well; these things are designed to fail fast at just the time an AppleCare contract expires, naturally.

In fairness, I keep my computers for a long time and love seeing what I can make out of the old ones. So I'm not really the typical Apple user.

Your new setup with that monitor is sexy as hell, though. Is it a 4K? And I love your vintage computer pictures. I'm going to have to dig up my original 1980 IBM PC - monochrome text only graphics and a 10 MB hard drive too!

Yes it’s a LG 4k monitor, should have bought that way before.
Looking forward to any vintage computer stuff you hapen to find 😃

That looks pretty sweet. It's definitely on my wish list, if I ever get a new enough computer to drive one. Do you recommend that model?

You inspired me to write a post about apple, so thanks for that - I gave you a shout-out right at the top!

I can't say I hate windows but I just would like something that will be there for me, if you know what I mean. I think it's worth the investment. So nice you still your old computer! Cheers

After getting used to the macOS, I can no longer stand Windows, but that’s maybe just me 😜

Old is gold,Old things are always in good repute, present things in disfavor.i remember i used windows 99, windows 2000. Thank you so much sir for your 100% Vote on my post i m really thankful to you and it was so nice of you, it make me more motivated.

My pleasure. Keep on blogging!

obviously friends like you make me motivated to do, thanks

Nice post. I'm going to write a book on a Kaypro 10 and have 2 of them. I'm also replacing out the HDD with a FreHD SD card digital storage for it, which is a challenge but I have already done this for a TRS-80 Model 4 and I have the circuit board for the adapter for the K10.

Curious... I see you have replaced a key on your keyboard. What did you find for the replacement? I have a broken key on one of mine and I really like the specific feel for typing on that one, so I'm curious where did you source the replacement key for yours?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49