Woohoo!! Virus Free!

in #computer6 years ago

Boooo, OS reinstall.

As several of you know I was infected with a horrible Virus and it took me 2 days to find out what it was and another 4 days to get rid of it.

I ended up Installing Ubuntu to remove the files containing the virus by force as it was a smart virus that would shut down programs I would try to use as well as corrupt files for things that would attempt to remove it.

On top of that My computer would blue screen if the virus was unable to start and even would blue screen if I tried to restart.

Over and over again I would restart, connect to the internet and try my best to find a solution.

Finally, via Teamviewer with a friend we decided to install Ubuntu and use the file browser to forcefully remove what we had determined to the the corrupt files.

In the process, I accidentally installed Ubuntu over top of my Windows OS.... that wiped everything and not just the virus.

Then I was stuck with having no other choice then to spend the next 12 hours reinstalling Windows.

All in all I am glad to be back up and running but I lost everything and that makes me sad :(

Sort:  

I'm glad I finally hear a good news after all the heck of today. Now I've learned something in case it happens to me. Stay happy @timbo

These virus's suck, you should have got a antivirus plan before, well that helps a lot, I think the best way to keep data safe is to keep it in a portable hard drive and keep that hard drive updated on daily basis then you just have to format the system

I had one, it didn't detect anything.... that happens a lot more than most people realize.

Guess that was the only option left ...but how did you manage to get the windows CD ...you should get some antivirus with hardcore firewall system you won't be facing the problem any more than...
Hope there was no great document on the pc....like bank details stuff

I have antivirus, never have been without it.

A friend of mine uploaded it to a flash drive for me through Ubuntu while I was working. It took 4 hours for the transfer to complete... ugh.

So you saved you data which was the primary need ...that is all mate ...Now enjoy new windows, glad you made it ....

At least smile now...hehe...
Stay tuned brother.

A happy ending, I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95