Got My Computer Back Today

in #computer7 years ago

I finally got my computer back today. It seems like I've been using the iPad since I got it - oh wait, I have. I was having troubles with this computer since around the end of November. It all started with the Windows update not installing.

Using Windows 10 this is a real pain in the ass because there is no way to shut off automatic updates. I don't know what Windows is thinking with this move. Actually, I think I know, but I'll sound like one of those "conspiracy theorists."

Anyway that's how it started. Something got on the computer and shut off the ability to update. I thought this was the only problem but then it started to get worse. Eventually, the start menu would only work periodically. I don't know if anyone has had this not work for them, but it is actually a real annoyance to not be able to have it. I eventually lost the start menu completely. Then, other task bar menus were starting to go. I wasn't able to open the volume menu or the wifi menu.

It got to the point where I decided to reset the computer because all the things I tried and researched were not working. The computer was actually so new I didn't have any restore points made on the system yet so I had to do a factory reset. Only problem was, this wasn't working either. The same thing would happen as when Windows tried to update. It would get most of the way through, but run into an error, and have to revert back without updating or resetting.

So, when I got the iPad near the end of December, I sort of stopped using the computer because it was getting too frustrating. I used it a couple of times since then, but only to get a file or something from it.

Then a few weeks ago I had finally had enough and contacted Asus Support to see if there was anything I could do. The costumer support was pretty quick, and after describing the issue, they told me to send it in. It was all covered under warranty, including the shipping, so I sent it away to have it reset.

That was a few weeks ago. I finally got the computer back today and I forgot how much nicer it is to use over the iPad. Don't get me wrong, the iPad is supper portable. It's really easy to move around and hold in different positions. This is especially convenient with a 3-year-old boy running around wanting to jump all over me all the time. And Procreate is amazing on the iPad, which is why I bought it. But, the computer is so much fast for a lot of things. It's the little things that make a computer superior. A 'delete' key, a mouse to select text, and the use of windows.

But most of all, the ability to manage files is non-existent on an iPad. This is the most annoying part of an Apple product. For some reason, Steve Jobs thought it would be a great idea not to have a file manager. I have a 250 GB hard drive, and not a single file is visible on the drive in one single program. To view a file, I have to open the program that the file is related to in order to see and manage it. So drawings are only viewable with Procreate, pictures are only viewable in some sort of photo app, movies are only viewable in iMovie or another video editor. This isn't an issue now, but I can see the hard drive space being really hard to keep organized when things start to get full.

I also went for another ski today and grabbed a good bit of video so stay tuned for that. Only two or three minor wipe-outs today. There is no way I'll be doing any more video editing with the iPad if there is a computer available. It's not anywhere near the same level of efficiency and versatility.

On that note, that's what I'm going to start doing. I have a bunch of programs to put back on here but I got excited and started typing with a real size keyboard in Steemit. Out popped this blog.

Now if I can only get over the urge to touch the computer screen because I think it's a tablet touchscreen.

Have a good one.

Sort:  

You sound really happy getting back your laptop xD its a nice feeling i know :)
and yes about the window 10 not able to turn off auto updates really sucks, Window 7 is the best i should say. hope they fixed it in new updates :)
And yes laptop seems more convenience over ipad or android for steemit, but i still uses esteem app xD
And looking forward to see your Ski video soon. 😁
...... high five to you laptop, looks awesome. 😀

My friend has the same exact model! I'm very exited to see your next article creared by you BRAND NEW LAPTOP! Congrats!!!!

Congratulations friend I'm glad you will recover your computer which is good, great contribution thanks for sharing your knowledge experience ..!

Congratulation!

Congratulation....very nice sir.i like it

Happy days are here again for stephen.king989... I'm happy for you too. Regards @angryman

Congratulations @stephen.king989

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38