I got a new Box

in #computer7 years ago

Hey Steemit,

My new desktop box just came in. Here are some pics.

20170517_195039

20170517_195326

I ordered this from system76.com. They specialize in making Linux boxes, and I'll be running Linux on this one, probably Manjaro Linux. https://manjaro.org/

This particular model is called "the leopard" https://system76.com/desktops/leopard

Here are the specs:

  • 3.8 GHz i7-6800K (3.4 up to 3.8 GHz – 15 MB Cache – 6 Cores – 12 threads)
  • 64 GB Quad Channel DDR4 at 2400MHz (4× 16 GB)
  • 4 GB GTX 1050 Ti with 768 CUDA Cores
  • 1 TB 2.5" SSD + 500 GB 2.5" SSD

I'm going to use this as my general at-home computer for gaming, Steeming, and whatever else.

Sort:  

Ready for the Hardfork?
@neoxian

I am ready.

Great
The Black Box is Ready

Good
Nice to be the first to know and upvote.

Congrats on being the first!

Thank you @neoxian

It's a long time ago I had a tower; Maybe it is still sitting in storage somewhere. But WOW, with windows (not that one :)) and everything! Now interior design gets another angle: the need for speed with design elements that pleases the eye!

Box is very good, I really like

That is a sexy box for linux. I kind of have an idea what Linux is. It's an operating system? @neoxian, box is bigger than my home. Steem On Dude!

Linux is an operating system, like Windows.

Jeez, that is definitely high-spec. Nice

W-O-W, this is really a MACHINE. What kind of games will you be playing on that beast? i would be running GTA V and The Witcher III like crazy

Well I only play Linux games. Playing Minecraft loaded down with tons of mods could give the box a workout though.

Well, "tons of mods" sounds a lot of fun tho, i barely can play it with my laptop but i have my old Atari for it, never get's old haha

That's what my son is always crying about. He loves Minecraft and the mods and shaders and I don't know what all lol. His machine isn't new but still I5, 8 gigs plus $400 graphics card....I tell ya having kids is expensive!!!

I'd love a blog post about what you'll be doing with this machine. Maybe some virtualization? Any editing?

Will do.

Damn that's one helluva box!

That's a beast. I'm also looking to upgrade my desktop soon.

Ah, the landing deck of the Steemit ship eh?

LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72