Restoring Windows to Previous Version Loop - SOLVED!

in #computer6 years ago (edited)

Hello All,

Before i get started i want to state, please take this information as an opinion i am simply sharing my experience and how i solved the issue. I am not an IT professional, take this as just sharing my experience.

So i wanted to share the way i fixed or temporary fixed my PC. Reason why i say temporary fix is because i just solved the issue last night and haven't had much time working on the PC since i fixed it. Once i was able to access my desktop i began backing everything up before i even started trouble shooting the issue. Please note i received a few errors after starting up the PC i will show you how to fix those after you back up your PC. FYI I was able to restart my PC with out it looping so here is how i did it.

After looping for over 5hours i started going into the BIOS and ran a test and came out with an ERROR, many people will say to factory reset, but DONT unless you already have you data backed up. Since i didnt have my data backed up, i couldn't boot into safe mode and there is no recovery option on my DELL inspirion. So i did this

Here is what i did

Download windows 10 media creation tool from Microsoft on a separate computer and install it to a USB 8GB or greater.

You can google how to do this. also known as WINRE

Insert the USB to the PC you are having a looping issues with. Hit F12 and boot menu should appear, boot from USB DISK.

Windows 10 Recovery installation should appear. Click next and accept terms of service, next

ON THE LOWER LEFT CORNER MAKE SURE YOU LOCATE " REPAIR COMPUTER"

Go to Advance Options

Click "startup repair" and see if that works after diagnostics .

If not go back to Advance Options

Click on " GO BACK TO PREVIOUS VERSION"

You should see a Option with

Windows Rollback

Windows 10 - Volume 3

Windows 10 - Volume 3 - I CHOOSE THIS ONE

Once i did this the PC rebooted and went into the DESKTOP! Hurray!!!

Immediately started backing up my DATA and Programs.

I did receive a pop up message of Programs that could not start BAD IMAGE.exe code 0xc000012F

I ignored these for now.

Once i finished the backup i began trouble shooting the PC .

so i removed the USB with WINRE 10 and it ran fine but kept having that issue of the POP showing up

BAD IMAGE.EXE

This was stopping me from Installing and uninstalling Programs or Updates.

I restarted the PC and NO more boot LOOP But Now the Blue Screen of Death with a message lol NOOOO!!!

Recovery - ERROR Code 0xc000000f

I hit F9 - to use a different operating system

and it went to my desktop - NOTE: this is the PC with No USB attached

So now am back in my system with but still receiving an error code

BAD IMAGE - 0xc000012F - cant install or uninstall programs

After trying to trouble shooting for hours trying to figure out this issue i gave up but decided to try 1 thing before i Factory Reset my PC.

I inserted my USB with WINRE10 Media creation tool opened the folder, you should see folders BOOT, EFI, SOURCE, located at the bottom is a Setup Application , Click on that App setup.

That is a Windows 10 Update.

It should say

Update or Upgrade to Windows 10

Keep Personal Files and Apps

Click Next,

Download and install Updates, and click Next.

start your update,

This took about 30 min to finish and when it restarted, NO Error Codes, Nothing, Directly from boot to Desktop.

Once in the PC, everything was working fine now. NO Error messages,.

I was able to install and uninstall programs,

We are good to go. I restarted my PC to check to and YUP we are good to go.

Again this was my experience and how i solved my issue, again this was only taken care of last night and still haven't had a chance to work on my computer to see if i encounter any problems, but the main problem seems to be solved for now.

This is how i resolved my Boot loop issue.

Hope this helps .

Thanks

Sort:  

Hit F12 and boot menu should appear, boot from USB DISK

I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed. Michael Jordan

NO Error messages,

I sometimes collect interesting quotes to make a post on their basis. I think that this will be one of them.

Once i finished the backup i began trouble shooting the PC

I like this place. I'm inspired to write a post based on this quote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46