AMD ThreadRipper 1950x Running Almost 5.0Ghz?!? Is This Normal?

in #computer7 years ago

Seems my newest PC build is either insanely bugged and showing wrong CPU clocks, my clock settings are messed up or the new 16-core Ryzen I've got running has a minor (or major) friggin' deathwish.. 0_0 While it's only supposed to be 4.1Ghz speed it seems to be hovering just below 5.0 Ghz... Any other Threadripper owners having run ins like this?

My speculation is that my Corsair H015 dual fan liquid cooler may be giving the chip enough headroom to clock itself up or perhaps it's just a display error. Not sure at all.

Link to CPU-Z Validation Page

Power Overwhelming.. But Not Sure If Good

After reading a bit it seems the new Zen architecture will clock itself higher if it figures it can get away with it.. Kind of trippy to see your workstation clock itself nearly another full 1.0Ghz with next to no warning.. If you've any experience with this sorta thing let me know in the comments below!


Please
VOTE
KLYE

for Witness!

Sort:  

wow! that's alot of Ghz's

+1 techno wizard chip of coding

great post thanks friend

Can’t power my time machine but still that is a beast!!!!

I’ve heard people overlocking their threadripper to near 5 on water cooling. You will know if the cooling can’t keep up as it will overheat and shutdown. I’m not sure what the max safe voltage is for those it should be in your manual. Perhaps you just won the silicon lottery.

If nothing else I’m sure you can use that to melt a door in your igloo to escape! Stay warm and enjoy your new space heater!

How is the heat? Mine runs very hot even though its water cooled... I just got this one and will reply with an update soon.

Never more than 65c

Yea that is insane. I just got a pretty good Acer Predator 15. What do you think of that computer @kyle?

dammit - i only got 8 cpus - need to win the lottery

Nice buy! Yeah, the Windows Task Manager is occasionally bugged. CPU-Z gets the accurate reading. It looks like the 1st gen Ryzen CPUs have a ceiling of 4.1 GHz to 4.2 GHz. Still, 16 cores 32 threads at 4.1 GHz is some serious firepower!

It´s possible that only one ore two cores are clocking that high and the rest is idling at 0.8 GHz. Seeing your PC has no load right now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66