Computer > Phone

in #computer6 years ago

I didn't spend a lot of time to find out that I'm a deep computer-guy. Without being said that I'm a computer scientist at all, I'm just value the PC/computer/desktop more than all the fancy portable mobile devices like tablets and phones.

I remember back then when my brother and I was sharing a rented room in Singapore, we often spending out night leisure time on electronic devices. Me on the performance laptop which I just bought not long ago with the credit-card-based loan, my brother was happily dealing with his iPad. And it is his only bigger device other than a smartphone. How can one survive a life without a fully functioning computer? This is the unanswered question till today.


Why I put computer above all the mobile devices?

All in all, the most obvious argument that mobile devices still not capable of doing what a proper desktop OS could do. For example:

  • Mobile devices cannot torrenting/seeding which was a huge part of my online activity a few years back. Maybe some geeks might argue this point and I believe through some hard work it is still possible to torrent on a tablet/phone but that's just too much of a hassle.
  • Mobile devices smaller screen is making them not the best tool for long-hours work. I'm not a fan of switching different poses while typing a blog due to soreness.
  • Desktop computer is the best productivity tool. Period. Bigger screen, tons of tools that specially designed to work better with desktop mode(like my recent favourite web application Webflow), tons of connectivity, tons of fun.

And the last point above could be the biggest reason why I rather spend my time and money on a fully capable machine than those fancy and expensive tablet/phone. Speaking of being frugal on phone investment, my current phone has been spending the longest time with me than any other pre-owned phone -- 2 years and still counting! I'm proud of myself, damn.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fr3eze.vornix.blog/computer-phone/

Sort:  

what about laptop vs desktop debate?

Depends on what are you using them for. Desktop are better on performance per dollar and mobile in the less heat and more performance per watt + portability.

To me the only difference is the portability, both are good to me in term of productivity. I'm actually looking for a new laptop so I can keep working when I'm on the road.

I'm also a computer guy. Smartphones are not fully capable of many things yet. And WEBFLOW looks promising. I'm learning with their YouTube's videos. And web design is easier than ever.

High five there buddy. Yeah webflow absolutely nails it for the web designing, the Designer drag and drop tool is surreal.

I don't have a preference when it comes to mobile or pc because for me both are good and each has things which the other device cannot do

Well, functionalities wise there are tons of things that mobile cannot do.

however a mobile can do what a pc can't do

like gps navigation, photography,messaging etc etc..

Computer can do just all that, probably not GPS navigation which needs portability tho.

yes but all those things portability is most important you can even use a remote app to control your pc from anywhere which is my favourite

overall i like both pc and mobile devices

Hi @fr3eze!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.031 which ranks you at #3494 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 3492).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #202.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

i've always hated the smaller screens. my eyes are sensitive so mobile devices never served me well, ever.

they're great for simple photos/vidoes and listening to music, etc. but desktops will always be more powerful. at least not until they can fit all that power into a single set of glasses :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44