Some of Life's greatest Rewards are Free: Share Your Best Ideas with Others!

in #compumatrix6 years ago

What do you enjoy doing? Are you creative? Do you Garden? How about Fixing things? Is Re-Sale your forte' and you enjoy it?

Life is full of adventures, and one of mine is simple easy gardening ideas. I started my trellis a few years ago, simply to make it easier to pick beans. The odd thing is I never expected it to produce far more than we could use, so we gave them away to others. Of course these were Bluelake Pole Beans, and grow well almost every where. A picture of last year's beans. 20160713_083626.jpg

Notice my chair and the shade! A Cool place to be in the heat and humidity we have!
Trelis 1.jpg

The simple example above, is easy to set up and use even in a very small area. And so how do I do this, trellis?
Simple really and is best done with at least two people. I do use the cattle/hog panels simply because they can be found for almost nothing, if used; and for a small price at your local farm store. The second reason is they are strong if put up right and hold a lot of weight. Plus, they are hidden by the vegetation and look cool; I will have another picture showing an alternate use, we did lately while not growing season, for my Grandson's toy Monster truck.

So we lay the panel down where we want one end to be. Then either stake the one end with T-posts, or just anything that can be driven into the earth as an anchor; Yes, even a raised bed or growing box as in the picture. Once one end is secure then 2 people is the simplest way to accomplish the arch. One person tries to gently pick up the center, may need a bit of help, and the other person then tries to move the free end of the panel towards the anchored end, keeping it close to the ground. You will figure out why I said keep it close to the ground. Then when you are as close as you want your arch to be simply put it on the ground and step on it while the other person anchors it to the ground with stakes, or if you already have boxes, as in the picture then put it behind the box. Like I said, in most cases the T-posts are optional for once vegetation has started to grow on the trellis it is highly unlikely for it to blow away or tip over since the roots hold it to the ground plus the weight of the vegetation. I have yet another variation you might like: trelis raised boxes2.jpg
Once again the most amazing thing is you are only limited by your Imagination! Since I do have a garden that is surrounded by a 6 foot chain link fence so the deer can't get to my garden like they use to; I also grow on the fence, and even run a pole from a trellis to the fence for more hanging vines. I have found so much you can grow in this manner!

Now for the make shift garage for my Grandson:20180209_082401.jpg To explain a bit about that picure, since it looks a bit like a green house, another great idea...perhaps? Anyway, the large skidder tire is one I acquired many years ago, and my kids played on it, and there was sand in it like a sand box, it weighs 1800lbs and is over 4 feet wide. No, it did not hold water (it took me 3 hours to drill a large enough hole in the bottom, before i set it there. But, you can see his Ride, The Grave Digger is dry. Also you can see a portion of my 6 foot fence around a portion of my garden. All you see I gathered from the local area for next to nothing. Each year the deer became more and more dependent upon my garden for their meals, ate my stuff like it was a buffet.

So what do you think? Folks sharing ideas are good for everyone! And I hope you can and will improve upon my ideas here; I look forward to seeing them! Thanks so much for your time! I loved doing it! Maybe one more picture: the reason for the wire in front is simple, if you do not keep your chickens up they will tear up the ground at the base of your beans or other crops, it is something they do, we do have a large caged area, but they also keep the bugs in the yard down so we let them out quite often; we just protect the plants20160713_083600.jpg. By the way; I have had as many as 5 of these trellis tunnels in various spots on my place. Next blog will be about the plants I am going to grow this year, you might try them as well? Thanks Sam Crees

Sort:  

This is great Sam. Thanks so much for sharing and posting pictures with it. My son and I will be doing this for our garden this year. Especially for our tomatoes, last year we had tomato plants grow 7 foot tall......we could not believe it, my son is 6 foot and the tomato plants were so thick and heavy they were taller than my son. We will more than likely build about 4 or 5 or these types of trellis for our different vegetable garden plants. Thanks for a great idea. It will also keep the rabbits away from eating the produce.

Great little shade house for sitting in Sam.

We've had a resident brush turkey in our backyard for about 5 months now, creating absolute havoc. Every last bit of mulch that I'd been building up all over the garden for the last few years, in now part of his mound. Growing greens on the ground is near to impossible at the moment, but beans over a trellis could be doable ~ Perhaps. 🦋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42