DEFINITION OF INSANITY

in #compumatrix7 years ago

DEFINITION OF INSANITY

EXPECTING DIFFERENT RESULTS

Sometimes we just have to pinch ourselves to see if we are awake. I don’t know how many times I have stated this or heard it for that matter. We think in ways that are contrary to what we already know.

When faced with certain dilemmas, we often find ourselves questioning what is abundantly obvious. Albert Einstein stated this clearly:

DEFINITION OF INSANITY: Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again expecting different results.

ASK THE SAME QUESTION

Often, you will run across a situation where someone will ask you the same question hoping to “trip you” and getting another answer. You will find in your life several people that are consistent at asking questions over and over again hoping for a “new” response. These people are divided into 2 groups. One group is looking to get another answer and the other is looking for confirmation on facts they already know.

The first group is doing what I have seen described in our chat room as: “trying to push a rope uphill”.

I have learned to keep my mouth SHUT recently!

I am often of this first group (as many will find themselves at a time or two). Deep down, I am always trying (mentally) to obtain the answer that I want. I would visit a site or the forum 20 times a day thinking this will surely force the answer I seek to magically appear on the page in front of me! I learned years ago the art of patience. Here is one version that I learned from someone years ago:

You can’t teach a pig to sing. First, they don’t know how and second you will just annoy the pig!

ALL THEY WANT IS CONFIRMATION

The second group is the group that just NEEDS TO PINCH THEMSELVES!

This group will ask the same question or restate the question with different words, content or structure. ALL THEY WANT IS CONFIRMATION!

They need reassurance that what was stated is true to its value. They know the answer to the question they are asking but if asked again, will the “new” answer reveal more information???? The need for reassurance comes from a deep level of doubt that they wish to dispel by obtaining the reassurance they seek.

We all have our “DOUBTING THOMAS” deep within ourselves. How many times have your stated: “I’ll believe it when I see it”. Or, “This is as good as money in the bank”. “I’ll believe it when I see it in the Bank!”

The above statement is lacking in our own credibility! If we are true to our own belief in what we are doing, then we are NOT waiting to see the MONEY IN THE BANK!

WE ARE THE BANK!
COMPUMATRIX

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54