'Baby Possum' Comes for Dinner at my House 'Without Being Invited'...

in #compassion6 years ago (edited)

Okay, I know...you're all probably saying that I should have chased the creature away with a stern warning to "never come back", but it was only a 'baby'....probably wasn't taught proper manners yet.

2018-11-12-19-17-28.jpeg

Besides...I kind of got a little attached to the little thing crawling around in my yard at night, along with it's sibling. They would usually sneak though a small crevice in my neighbors fence, while me and my cat sat on the porch looking at them. My biggest surprise was that my cat didn't seem to be bothered in the slightest. Especially since they resembled 'rats' when they first started to show up.

My cat is a sweet girl, but is an avid hunter of rodents, birds, snakes and a few other creepy crawlers. She's also an active Anarchist, refusing to honor the hunting season restrictions, and 'never' applies for a hunting license. Maybe her motherly instincts kicked in with these two babies.

Something had to have happened to their own mother...I read that possums remain with their mother for up to a year old; and when they are tiny, they ride on top of their mama's back.

Anyway...AngryMan must be getting soft in his old age...It wasn't that long ago that I would have chased it out of the house with a broom, like the one I caught sleeping in my front room a couple of years ago.

Yeah...that's probably my problem these days...'too' soft, I'm turning into one of them 'tree hugger' types. Next thing ya know, I'll probably be planting petunias along my front porch like a little old lady. Maybe I should see the Doc and have my hormones checked...??? Could be that those estrogen levels have gotten out of whack due to all those plastic molecules in our food and water which resemble estrogen...???

I don't know...but if old AngryMan was turning into a woman, I probably would have hopped up on a chair screaming at the sight of a rodent-like creature scurrying around on the floor. I ain't got those "man boobs..." so I must not be too far gone...?

Listen up...I'm outta here for now friends; see ya when I see ya.

Ciao


Another Beastly, Boast of Benevolence from the Mind of @AngryMan on Steemit, Dec. 12, 2018

Sort:  

You should totally keep the possum as a pet. It would be a great conversation starter when people visit you.

I've actually thought about letting it get comfortable here, but it's little sibling and 'another' one has also started to come in at night...One looks to be a little older (maybe a teenager) They come in through my pet door; probably learned that from my cat.

What would I do with a whole caravan of them??? Next thing you know, I'll have a bunch of Hondurans streaming in from down South of the border...

And you think your cat is gonna let any other rodent in , lol , i think your right , she somehow accepted those two . Nature dos funny things sometimes . You might consider to find a way to keep them outside , hope they survive and find there way . At least they have your cat , by living in her domain they are save from a lot of danger . If they keep coming in they will domesticate and become dependent on you . To soft kills ;-)

Nature dos funny things sometimes

Yes, I agree ... Nature holds a lot more mystery than many people think it does; and we sometimes forget that 'nature' extends far beyond our own Earth...

Very kind of you not to get angry with the critter old angry man :-).

My cats caught and killed a rat last week, and a mouse or 3. I threw them out on to the fields, the mice were all eaten, nothing has even touched the rat, funny that eh, nothing eats a dirty old rat!

Hi Shepz1 ... I guess when we get exposed to something that's still a baby, our view can easily change regarding what's 'ugly' or not.

My cat actually brought me a full grown squirrel once, dragging it underneath her between her legs...the damn thing was almost as big as she is. I take what she brings me away from her and thank her for contributing food to the household; of course I don't eat what she brings, but if I was hungry enough...hey...it would be a meal to be thankful for.

Yeh they are funny creatures (cats) ours leave mice in the cat feeding room for us. They never eat them, just leave them for us. :-)

Behind that angryman exterior obviously lurks a heart of gold.

Shhhhhhush.... @deirdyweirdy ... You might hurt my image here exposing that truth... :>)

You got a 11.01% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @angryman!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75