Community Series #20: Books for Christmas

We received our first snowfall this afternoon and evening. The ground has a fresh and fluffy white coating and I for one am thinking of a white Christmas.

Once the Christmas jollies started, I remembered that I hadn’t sent my wish list to the family yet - I’m always early as you can tell.

Although, for anyone who knows me for more than a week, they can surmise what will be on my Christmas list.

I love to read, and soon after I picked up my first book the joke became, “Lyd wants books for Christmas” - there was that one year I wanted a bike, but that was an anomaly.

This year, I am happy to report, is consistent with the trend. My problem is always which books do I ask for.

My bride and I do not yet have our Henry Higgins library, so I tend to pick books I know for certain will stay with us.

That may sound odd, but when you have moved as often as we have for the last 6 years, you start packing before you pack.

A few of the books on my list this year are:

-Humble Inquiry: The Gentle Art of Asking Instead of Telling

-The Grand Weaver: How God Shapes Us Through the Events of Our Lives

-Tribe of Mentors: Short Life Advice from the Best in the World

That is a small helping of my Amazon wish list - I know better than to drop my entire list on the family nowadays.

We shall wait and see if they acquiesce to my requests or they decide to switch it up on me this year.

What is on your Christmas wish list this year? Is it the same every year?


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

For the most part, I struggle when it comes to self-help or devotional or, actually, any sort of non-fiction. I need stories. I thrive on stories.

The library has been a favorite haunt of mine ever since my mother first took me there when I was about two. I do browse the shelves in the science and technicals sections for information, but I can't say I read those books... more like scan them to extract the nuggets I need to do what I want to do.

But novels? Science fiction in particular has been my staple since the first grade, when I discovered that those wonderful books had little red rocket images stuck to their spine. They still do. Maybe it's a library tradition?

My very most favorite story of all time, one I've read now undoubtedly more than a dozen times since it was released in the mid 1960s, is Robert Heinlein's "The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress."

In my opinion, it is his finest work. Read it and you'll see. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

I can see how your skill set and love of sci-fi work harmoniously now. :)

Added Heinlein’s book to my Amazon wish list.

I know you're a big boy, Lydon, but I shall nevertheless mention that Heinlein at times gets pretty "adult" in his writing, although certainly not crassly explicit. From reading his books and from reading biographical material about him, this is probably no real surprise.

I know that he succeeded in either sowing seeds of libertarian thought in me, or at the very least, watering those seeds. I constantly hope to discover other writers of his caliber, capable of grabbing and holding my thrilled attention, and find myself constantly disappointed.

When you do get around to him, I'd love to discuss him further... BTW, I once reviewed "The Moon:"

"The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress" by Robert A. Heinlein ~Book Review~

I appreciate the heads up. Generally, I avoid crassness in the art forms but when there is reason for it - adding emotional weight to a serious situation - I do not take issue with it.

I am always looking for quality writing that stimulates the discussion of freedom.

we have so many books we could open our own bookstore. I tend to go back and re-read books I read at a certain stage of my life. The first self-help book I read was Douglas Lurton's, The Power of Positive Living. But I think it was out of print then, and I've never been able to find another copy....but yes, that's what I do - cycle through classics and retrace where I've been. In order for me to read a contemporary best seller, it would have to be on that level, and so far, it ain't happened :)

cycle through classics and retrace where I've been.

I am in that stage as well. It is amazing to see the Lord’s work over the years and even year by year.

I ordered Tribe of Mentors as well. Along with Discipline equals freedom, Unf*ck yourself and Mansfield book of Manly men. I hope they will arrive before Christmas.
But I buy myself books on a regular basis. I don't know when I'll read them all :)) Besides the ones that I've listed above I have another batch waiting to come tomorrow.

That is a good list. Mansfield Manly Men sounds like an enjoyable read.

Yup, I listened to an interview of Stephen Mansfield a few weeks ago and the man is awesome. I think his book is the same.

Books are indeed the bane of moving. Been there, done that but my back is still out LOL.

Lol, those are some mighty books.

I didn't prepare my Christmas list, my Christmas is Panama and the sun ;) Have a wonderful Christmas ;)))

Panama and sun is

The best gift you can give to anyone :)
And not a big reader myself but like to go through some in time !

What books do you enjoy?

I wasn't a reader growing up. Books? What are those? It wasn't a thing in my house neither was education.

The first books I read were trashy novels. The first book I read was the Bible—I was 32 years old. That's when I got an education.

God has taught me so much about many subjects and opened my mind and heart to all kinds of things. He's given me a deep understanding when I read his words and a hunger to know things at the right time.

I don't have a list of books per se but I do have a favorite book that I bought out at a store and it's now out of print. If you can get a copy of this, I know you'd enjoy it . I just checked Amazon has it. Otherwise I would mail you my copy.

God rest ye merry gentlemen came to mind when I first opened your post - the photo is perfect. Thanks for sharing this one :)

Otherwise I would mail you my copy.

You are so sweet Ms Deb. The title alone of that book is valuable. It is on my list now.

When I saw the picture of a Merry snowman with books I knew it was the one. :)

It's on my book bench to read ..... in a pile with others waiting to be read Although it isn't a book you'd read like fiction. More like sipping through Tozer or Ravi Zacharias, or Spurgeon. Speaking of Ravi Zacharias, did John ever tell you we attended a few services at his church?

More like sipping through Tozer or Ravi Zacharias, or Spurgeon.

Usually, I describe authors of this caliber as a good fudge to slowly savor - sipping is in the descriptor vocabulary now. :)

I believe John mentioned you were able to hear Ravi speak, but I don’t recall the detail that it was at his church.

mmmmmmm fudge! I like that analogy. Ravi is the brother in law of the pastor of Rexdale Alliance - well he's retired now but that's how we ended up learning about him - we went to hear the pastor and it was "missionary sunday" and Ravi was the speaker. We've sat under some excellent teaching over the years.

very nice writing and good post

upvote comment follow

I declare, Steemit is broken.
I am sure I voted for this when I was here days ago; only to come back now and find it unvoted! :O

Well, remedied... But I am nevertheless concerned. How many of my votes are going untallied? :O

That would be news to me! Your faithful voting always shows up in the tally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73