Community Series #19: Favorite Christmas Songs

It is beginning to sound a lot like Christmas. Although, if you were to visit our household in July you would be listening to Christmas music then as well. Yes, we are a bit odd that way.

Christmas music and the Christmas season are always a happy time for our family. They are a reminder of the miracle of the Virgin birth and the humbling example of Christ to become a man.

One of my favorite Christmas songs is O Come, O Come, Emmanuel.

O come, O Branch of Jesse's stem,
unto your own and rescue them!
From depths of hell your people save,
and give them victory o'er the grave.

Those lyrics ring from within as I sing them throughout the year. Our hope of glory is a joyous reason to sing our victory over the grave.

Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow indeed!

My birthday is on the 29th of December. In Pennsylvania, we rarely had snow before Christmas, and often only a dusting by Christmas Day. By the time my birthday rolled around I was singing this song with a joyful expectancy.

We are a looking forward to a large snowfall in the south this year after a disappointing snow last year. It has been too long since I made a snow angel.

What are your favorite Christmas songs? What memories do you have associated with those songs?


Image Sources: 1
Video Source: EmmanuelLet It Snow

Sort:  

Beautiful Christmas songs. Excellent post.

the Christmas vibes :D

What's a nice time I had with your post. Thank you :)

You’re welcome. :)

On of my favs is Sleigh Ride. Even back in my band days in junior high and high school.

That is such a picturesque song.

I had the joy of singing bass in a Christmas quartet this year, something that I jones for all year long. We sang:

  • O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
  • Joy To The World! The Lord Is Come
  • Lo, How a Rose E're Blooming
  • O Come, All Ye Faithful
  • Angels We Have Heard on High
  • Hark! the Herald Angels Sing
  • Away in a Manger

I sang with a couple that I am privileged to often harmonize with, and one additional lady who did a very creditable job of sight reading. And, I must say, we rocked it. It was truly beautiful and memorable, and appreciated by the many who attended the church Christmas party.

I fully expect to be singing those Christmas songs for-ev-er in The Glory, as well as many others that I love. And, yes, I sing them in July as well.

Thanks for sharing, Lydon...

😄😇😄

@creatr

I can read the joy in your words as you recall that awesome experience. Did not realize you sang bass.

Oh to sing with all the saints in glory, that will be glorious.

One of my favorites is Mary Did You Know - I can hardly get through those lyrics without crying. It reminds me of my love for the Lord. What He came for, what He's done and will do and how hard it must have been for Mary to watch her son die on the cross and not understand at that time.

I LOVE the Piano Guys btw.....I found them recently - and their rendition of O Come, O Come, Emmanuel is amazing.

The Dean Martin video brought back memories of drinking egg nog coffee lattes with my daughter and son while painting ceramic Christmas ornaments.

The story behind Mary Did You Know, and the song itself leave me in wonder. The child like inquisitiveness into things we see through a glass dimly.

The Piano Guys are loads of fun to watch and listen to. Glad you found them!

Those are wonderful memories. Making ornaments and hanging them on a real tree are fond rememberances of mine as well.

I had to up-vote you when the reward was at $6.66, not that I'm superstitious, but it just didn't seem right in keeping with the spirit of the season. Most Christmas hymns can be enjoyed all year long - we often hear them on our Sonos in July. As for the season, Deb and I were married on Dec 20, so we always have another reason to celebrate. I'll put your b-day on my I-Cal, lydon :)

Lol, I saw that payout and had to chuckle with the subject matter.

A good hymn is indeed enjoyed year round. An astute observation there John.

December 20th is on our calendar as well now. :)

They are so beautiful, they make me feel like a child yet I am a old woman. I love all Chrtmas songs. My family get fed up with me. :)

Haha, and you just smile and keep the Christmas songs playing. :)

This was always one of my favorites:

Gotta love Snoopy!

Yes! Good ole Snoopy. :)

Good King Wenceslas. I could listen to it all year round!

This is a new one for me. Time to find my ear buds. :)

This one has been a favorite of my cousins and I since we were kids, and we often sing it when we are together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70