HOW DID YOU DISCOVER STEEMIT?

in #community6 years ago

How did I discover Steemit?


U5dr87pgcBAscZmRhHz59E9BZQLYVMM_1680x8400-1.jpg

A friend of mine who i met few years ago when in went for my NYSC (National Youth Service Corp) in Kano state Nigeria, used to advertise cryptocurrency on facebook. He always advertise bitcoin and different blockchain technology program to attend but I have not been showing interest in it.

At that time I thought that cryptocurrency and the blockchain was another ponzi scheme been advertised, because a lot of ponzi scheme were been advertised at that period. A friend of mine introduced me to one ponzi scheme called MMM but before I could join it crashed. So I just did not want to get involved in cryptocurrency because I thought it was a ponzi scheme too and so I did not show any interest in it when my friend kept on advertising it on facebook.

But my friend kept on advertising cryptocurrencies on facebook and so one day, I said let me even take a look at this nonsense cryptocurrency that my friend was always advertising on facebook and so he introduced me to one cryptocurrency group chat on telegram. It was on this telegram group that a member of the group was introducing steemit to another person in the group telling him that it is a site where you can blog and earn. So I picked interest even though it was not me he was introducing it to, and decided to check the site and see what this steemit is all about and here I am on steemit today enjoying myself. 😄🤣

........so what about you, how did you get to discover steemit..........?


I have had from different people how they discovered steemit and it is something I found amazing. So let me know how you discovered steemit just for the fun of it.

@yaanivapeji.

Sort:  

This is a really interesting question - so thanks @yaanivapeji for telling us about how you discovered steemit;-)
I heard about steemit during an online summit and registered for it in autumn last year. But at first I didn't understand the system of steemit and just stopped participating after a few days. In April this year I heard again about steemit in a podcast and thought I should give it a try to find out, if it is possible for me as an introvert to become successful on steemit without knowing some supportive whales and without investing own money. As far as my experiences on steemit are concerned I didn't earn much crypto yet but I met a lot of wonderful people here. And I also must admit that I have fun posting and writing comments on steemit and I also think that the quality of post is much better than on Facebook;-) So it's fun to stay here;-) After all I still try to figure out the best strategy for me on how to become successful on steemit;-)

Cool @zuckerzombie, most of us are in the same boat, still trying to figure out how to be successful on steemit.

Hang in there. Regards.

Thank you @yaanivapeji:-) Wish you lots of success on steemit!!

I heard of Steem from @gamer00. He started talking about it about a year and a half ago. He was not really enthusiastic about it. But when he invested some thousands worth of crypto in it in February 2017, I should've followed suit.

Cool. Investing in steem makes you enjoy your steeming better. Would you still invest money in steem?

I have bought STEEM with other cryptos.

The European Union is looking for a blockchain on which to put economic data from its member countries. They tried Ethereum but it couldn't pass muster because of having inadequate capacity at this stage. Take a look at this article:

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@sorin.cristescu/european-financial-transparency-gateway

Steem would fit the bill. It's been running without major problems for two years. It has ample capacity event without hard fork 20 having happend yet. You can store data on Steem without having anything to do with the reward pool. The EU would have to pay for the bandwidth with STEEM. And that is just one potential application for Steem.

Cool @markkujantunen. Let us see what the future holds for steem.

I discovered steemit while I was surfing the web, I can't exactly remember what I was searching for that day, but i am glad I found steemit (even without meaning to).

Cool, I also would have loved it, if I found steemit on my own.

Well, its still great that you found out about it, even earlier than I did.

Yeah, I guess, the earlier the better on steemit.

Yeah, it is.

Through a friend who said i could use it to make some extra cash...... but also blog honestly for free lol.

Heard about steemit from a good friend and class mates @arinzechukwu and @egbujorvictor but didn't start when he told me because of the kind of Ponzi that is all over Nigeria then that nearly killed me . It is in may that I started and am comfortable because I do what i like here that is about football.

Yeah those ponzi schemes in Nigeria affected a lot of guys, but we survived @bombo17.

Yes we survived

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71