You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tough, but Necessary Decision to Drop Someone From My Blog Community

in #community6 years ago

As a Christian, I know this decision was a tough one to make.

I used to have more than one emotional vampire in my inner circle, and as you said, as time went on, the connection to those people started to make me worn out.

I know it can devastating to live with an illness or constant ailment. A person in such affliction would be experiencing pain and/or suffering on a daily basis - so the natural reaction to that would be to become pessimistic about life.

You can be a shoulder to lean on for people in that position, but after a while, it's hard not to get pulled into their pessimistic reality yourself.

It's a tough place to be. Both for the person who is suffering and the friend on standby who is a shoulder to lean on.

However, I've been around someone who has been suffering from sickle cell anemia for years. She is constantly in and out of operations. She lives an extremely tough life.

And yet, she is a not a pessimistic person. She is very giving to others and has a bright perspective about things. This leads me to believe, that even through hardships, some people manage to choose to live anyway.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comments; I genuinely believe that we are given the power to move the trajectory in our lives. Focus on darkness and despair, and more than likely, that's what you receive. Think of life and beauty, even something to look forward to, can dramatically alter our lives for the better.

I hate that I had to essentially drop this person from my social media connections; however, his negativity was becoming a burden on me. I am not the most spiritually strong person, but I'm trying to change that with positive thinking.

Unfortunately, listening daily to stories of sorrow, despair, and casual musings of suicide was enough for me. Such focusing on the darkness does no one, primarily the sufferer, any favors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63