Community work-Journey to kg. Tiku

in #community7 years ago (edited)

Through work experiences, I've been into the legal firm, insurance industry and corporate but never with Non Government organisation (NGO). 2015 I took rather drastic move, changed career and yes into NGO organisation.

Working with NGO makes me opened my eyes and started to appreciate what I got since I opened my eyes to the world. In the midst of the modernise era, there are people who still live without the pleasure of having electricity. This is where our NGO organisation come..to give hope of electricity to the indigenious community in Malaysia thru Small scale Micro Hydro.

So...to cut short, early September this year I went along with our team and 10 important guests to Kampung Tiku, Penampang, Sabah (we called it Sabah but the orang putih always referred it as Borneo). Our Journey took about 30 minutes from Donggongon, Penampang. Believe it or not, there are still villages in Penampang that still live in darkness without electricity.

The road to get there was very chalenging...

We splited into 2 teams; one going up to the Forebay (Datuk's team) and the other to the Power House where all the electricity generated. Since we arrived early, I choose to go down the hill to the Power House. It was way way down, through a slippery path and leaches here and there. Going down was easy but going up on a 45 deg hill...man I need to take a rest every 10 steps. Funny thing...my fit boss said it was just 2 minutes down and up the hill, but for me, its like 10 minute or so..

We wait for the Datuk's team to come down to the Power House from the Forebay. When the Datuk arrived, he was surprised that we already there. So he said "Wah you ladies so fast ah going down". Before we could answered, my bos replied "They're so round, they just roll". My it was so embarassing...yeah I'm round but..yeah



Next, we visited the beautiful kampung Tiku. We brought foods an goodies to the kids.

The villagers were so nice..they even prepared lunch for us. After lunch they shared their experiences of having lights/electricity for the first time thru the Micro hydro system. It was a meaningful sharing from them...one that bring tears to your eyes. They're so worried that the Government plan of building the Koiduan Dam that will destroy their ancesteral land.

Overall, it was satisfying journey. Tiring but productive day. Our important guests were very happy and amazed by the village scenery.

Sort:  

What an awesome journey ! With steem .. I'm sure there are lots of ways we can help out even more by highlighting these initiatives . Keep up the good work @verasj

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48