Sort:  

I don't believe the part about leaving the ice cream to melt.
NO ONE WOULD DO THAT.
Eat it first..rather than let it go to waist.

other wise..
seems reasonable.
I've done much the same

us crazy old coots gotta stick together.
glad there were some there to help you.

Hmmm, I clearly didn't communicate well that I ate it. The whole quart of Tillamook brand Salty Caramel. This is why i set off 'bloated'. And a bit gassy...

It was cool how folks just stopped what they were doing and helped push. I was touched.

ah...I misread.
sorry.
I'm SO relieved that you have your priorities in order.

Oh, and ice cream all goes to my waist =p

A heartwarming post! Unfortunately, it's a bit different living in the city. When my father started having trouble with dementia, he'd regularly leave the house in pyjamas and slippers, mug in hand, off in search of a coffee shop. I was always amazed no one ever stopped to help him. You could likely streak through Dublin without anyone noticing. Everyone is plugged into some device or other with no heed to the world around them.

Well, unless he looked confused (I've seen guys with dementia put their pants on backwards) I wouldn't give him any trouble either. Old guys have the right to look for good coffee in slippers if they want!

Still, your point is taken. And this is why I live in a little village.

Come to think of it, you're right. Why shouldn't a man wander abroad in any attire of his choosing? As for village life, being a little bit past my prime, it's beginning to look ever more attractive.

I am sure Ireland has some epic villages!! I'm jelly, sorta. I have a weakness for redheaded lasses... Red hair, freckles, and green eyes are my kryptonite.

Sorry, tmi... lol

Wow, what is this amazing Narnia you live in where you have a Steve and a Heidi and a Dave and a Roman popping out of their daily jobs to come help you with your otherwise Sisyphean task? I almost picture the baker coming out in a baker's hat, covered in flour, and waving at you, while a bus conductor, wearing uniform and jaunty cap gives you a couple of toots of the horn.

But I take your point. I also hope Steemit turns out to be that kind of neighborhood.

Ps. your profile photo looks painful!

Just life in a village on the Oregon coast.

The piercings shown in the profile pic I have foregone, but, tbqh, see plenty that look at least as painful daily. That man seems to have been raised in a culture where such piercings were the norm, and he seems to be thumbing his nose at us while he obediently shows the piercing. The profile pic strikes me as rebellious in sensibility, while apparently obedient to the photographer - an apt metaphor for my own condition.

Interesting - a paradox. I like his attitude as well. I should look for a photo that expresses who I am without showing my actual face, which I don't particularly like to put out on the internet.

Your village sounds nice. I'd like to live in a community like that some day.

I do recommend living amongst people fewer in number, and larger in life. I hope you can.

Indeed, there is a benefit to community. It is the way humans have survived this long, all pulling together for the benefit of each other.

The loss of this sense of community is very sad, and the hole left in it's place is pretty big. People can feel lonely and abandoned even in the midst of a densely populated city center. Unfortunately, this often leads to overcompensation. The voluntary, helpful ecosystem, is replaced by harmful government programs. While the motivations behind these programs may be great in theory, in practice, they only isolate the helpee from the helper.

The helper is forcefully removed from his means against his will and without his consent. The helpee receives this assistance automatically, with very little human interaction. Neither party gets to experience the connection that this kind of assistance brings. It breeds mutual contempt, indignation and entitlement.

So, it is very important to recognize the beauty of these relationships, especially when things happen the way they should, and everyone involved feels uplifted in the end. It is the way we were created. (or evolved if you rather.)

I have to stop voting now. Actually, I had to stop voting yesterday, but.. I'm addicted! Anyway your comment is right on the money.

I thank whatever gods may be that no gummint agency has yet been empowered to replace neighbors helping push neighbors trucks. I think if that happens, I will get a bicycle, or a little red wagon, or anything I can push all by myself (without attracting too much empathy from the neighbors).

I do think a lot of the problem is how we are densely packed into cities, as @deirdyweirdy noted. Many studies (famously lemmings) have shown that the stress of high densities causes bizarre and dangerous behaviours in every species studied.

Your comments are perhaps the strongest advocacy for voluntarism I have heard. Frederic Bastiat and Lysander Spooner, whom I have had foisted on me of late, both make far more technical, but no more persuasive, arguments towards that end.

Thanks for your insight!

Wow, thank you for that! I do have some voluntaryist tendencies that might show from time to time.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience!

Thanks for an amusing story valued-customer. I think it's in our nature to want to help and it is definitely the kind of community I want to be part of, where we bring out that nature in each other.

Seriously, this is such a wonderful post! It drew me in. I loved it to pieces and wish I could have helped you push your truck. Resteemed!

You make my point for me =) Steemit is a great community. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88