You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Yes, Another Post Expressing Gratitude

in #community4 years ago

"When I first came to STEEM, I wondered if somehow, someway, someone had finally gotten such a social experiment right—where the haves and the havenots, the God fearing and the atheist, the scientist and the skeptic, the right and the left (and however else we manage to distinguish and thus divide ourselves)—could coexist peacefully, without fear and without reprisals."

I wondered the same myself. Unfortunately time has shown that isn't the case. In some ways, this platform is even less open to contrary opinions than Facebook. That's why 99.99% of the content being published falls into topics than can't annoy anyone.

This network is a social experiment... but only for light topics. We could even rename it to... The Pink Steem. It would fit the network perfectly.

Sort:  

Hey, @trincowski.

Yeah. I believe that's true, to a degree. The only hope I have is that at some point, some of the bigger accounts who have more or less stayed neutral will eventually get tired of the thought police and act. Right now, theycallmedan is asking for anyone who has first hand knowledge about the different protests going on around the world to write and tweet about them. I think it's a great idea, but I have to wonder how that might fare, too. Maybe that's fine.

I can't say that I'm a flat earther, a total non-vaxxer, or something along those lines, but I do wonder about a lot of that sort of thing. But I do belong to an organized religion and probably fall into other categories that aren't so highly looked upon by some.

So, I'm not going for Utopia, but I am going for free speech, without fear of physical, emotional or economical reprisal. I also believe that we should be accountable for what we say and do, so if we're saying something, we better be sure of its veracity or our own convictions to it, because ultimately, we will be probably be called out on it and might find ourselves needing to defend positions.

I don't see anything wrong in that, if civility and decorum can be maintained. Unfortunately, that's not a universally held ideal, anywhere, not only STEEM. We're in the middle of an age where tearing someone down, regardless of who they are or what they think, is at least equally as desired as actually getting to the truth. In too many cases, the scales to tip to the tearing down for the fun of it.

I came here after seeing SteemIt be advertised as a Censorship Resistant Network. Soon enough I realised that was nothing more than a big lie, a false advertisement move and nothing more.

Meanwhile, most people who came here looking for a Censorship Resistant Network have been driven away by the big boys with fat bank accounts. Those people have all returned to Facebook, as there's still more Freedom of Speech over there than in our little pond. 🙄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77