What has Steemit taught you?

in #community7 years ago



For me one of the most amazing things about Steemit has been the amount of things I have learnt on my short journey here. I have managed to do things I never thought I would be able to and this is with thanks to all of you awesome people and the platform that allowed us to communicate and interact with each other in such a manner.

I can ramble on for hours about everything I’ve learnt, from making GIF’s, editing videos, writing fictional stories etc. The latter being one of my personal great accomplishments.

Before I joined the platform I had never written a fictional story, except for some rubbish I wrote in my school days. Then, one day, I came across a post by @satchmo which was a crowd story. I read the start of it and that is where my fictional writing was born. The entire story started in my head and constantly develops as I’m writing it. I know the end of the story and how most of it is filled out however as I’m writing details around it develops. I’ll admit, it’s not always easy and sometimes I can really get stuck on a chapter. It is however an amazing feeling knowing this is your creation.

Anyhow, it’s not about my fiction but rather about the fact that I didn’t know I could write a story, let alone a completely fabricated (except for the first few sentences of Chapter 1) story. This is one of the great things Steemit has done for me. It sparked my creativity.

I’ve also learned a tremendous amount about cryptocurrencies. I’m definitely far from being an expert however for me, personally, I’ve learnt so much already and am constantly learning more. What an amazing concept this whole crypto thing is. There is no other fiat currency in the world that has the potential that crypto does. It isn’t selective, it does not judge, it can’t be manipulated by a central entity etc. What a great opportunity for the masses. I truly look forward to seeing how the crypto world develops going forward.

I’ve also learnt to focus on positivity. Functioning on a platform where positivity and positive interaction can be rewarded is another wonderful thing I’ve been taught. Sure, Steemit has its flaws. Many people operating on the platform have their flaws and some are purely here for self-gain. I do however appreciate the fact that I can choose who to interact with and those will most likely be because it has had a positive impact on me.

So there you go. A few points I could surmise however there is much more to it than that. Every day I pick up on something new that I didn’t know about. Recently I learnt that chickens are the closest relative to a T-Rex, how to make a tornado with two cool drink bottles, AI’s will be replacing around 30% of the global work force etc.

So, let me ask you again. What has Steemit taught you?


pic 2.gif

Sort:  

Great post, you have really progressed tremendously in your writing and I really appreciate the satchmo pi stories on my commute home

Thanks man :) I've been a little slow lately with the Satchmo P.I. and interacting in general. Its just been a combination of factors i.e. building a miner :D, work etc. I'll be able to pick up the pace again though.

Awesome @therneau, love your writing style, and how great to discover new talents! I read some of your posts to your Oumama who is also super proud of you!

Awww, thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoy my writing and also reading it to ouma :)

perfect ^^!

Great post! Steemit has taught me to persevere, be patient and to enjoy people and lastly ..never give up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73