Steemit Community Building: Mark Your Location on the Map and Find Local Steemit Users

in #community7 years ago

Have you ever wondered if there are nearby Steemians?

This is your chance!!

In the near future you'll see my changing my focus from writing guides/faqs to community building projects and activities. I'll be making a post more about this in the next few days. But this is what I'm starting with towards this endeavor!

I've put together this map for Steemit users to place themselves on (to whatever level they feel comfortable) to help those that aren't far from each other the chance to actually hangout in real life! This will also help those of you that may have been considering organizing a Steemit Meetup!

But to start, we've got to fill out this map! I don't want anybody to feel pressured to do so, since some of us prefer not to give out their location.

Click Here to See or Add Yourself to the Map!!!

I don't recommend adding your actual address. The City alone is plenty to achieve the goals of this map.

If you want to place your location on the map, simply follow these steps.

  1. Click HERE to open the map: http://j.mp/2tEwVyJ
  2. In the top left, hover over "Additions" and click "Add Marker - Simple" (or detailed)

  3. Fill out the form with your username and choose a location (with what ever level of specificity you are comfortable.)

  4. Press Submit


And that's it!!

This will let you easily see what other Steemians are near by! If you click on a pin, you'll see their user name and maybe even be able to start a conversation with them to move the chance to hang out in real life a little closer.

Please be remember to be respectful with this tool. This does NOT give you the right to break conventional etiquette.




Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
Pins on Map

Sort:  

Excellent job, @sykochica!!! I'm number 12 on the map. Just added myself & very happy to do that. Next thing for me to do is to share this map with my team mates who would be willing to add their cities as well. I tell you this will go a very long in helping with community building like you rightly stated and planning as well. By the way, you were mentioned in this post I wrote about 2 days ago,https://steemit.com/steemit/@maryfavour/a-new-dolphin-has-evolved . I see how very busy you are working on many projects . Thanks a million!!!

Good work, I'm first in UK :)

I'm second.

wa-hey! welcome "neighbour" :)

Think I'm the first in Yorkshire!

This is a great idea for those who want to connect and maybe even meet other steemit users !

Morning @sykochica - Thank you for this.

I'm on the map in South Florida.

Yes, I have wondered about this very fact... When I get a chance I'm going to go there I'm putting my location in. ❤

Great idea! Just added my marker :)

This is really cool! I've added my own city, but it seems the nearest Steemian who have also done it is hours and hours away from me :P

Awesome idea. Marker added - first in Central Europe :-)

Upvoted and Resteemed by the xx_Votes_Plus curation trail! Want more earnings? Follow @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396 and/or delegate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead! Keep up the good work!

That amazing idea @sykochica. I loved it . this will help us to connect better and bigger. Great work. Bring it on. Following you for more interesting stuff. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85