You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gifts, Colors, Paradise & Dreams

in #community6 years ago

My wedding ring is one of my most prized gifts. It is a wonderful reminder of my wife and my family.

I like the color blue. It reminds me of the ocean and tranquility. Although the ocean can be violent at times.

My family and I moved from Indonesia back to the States about 3 years ago. If you asked my kiddos where they would to live they would say Indonesia. They forget some of the hard parts of life that we experienced there, because the memories are just too good :) If we were to move back, I would need a strong visa so that I could work.

Wrong to want something more? Depends. I believe in setting goals and looking forward, but I need to make sure I don't make those goals and dreams turn into idols that consume my life and rob me of joy.

Great post! And it is nice when people ask engaging questions. I try to do the same.

Sort:  

Well, thank you, @sumatranate. I've decided I need to up my game as far as engaging posts go, so we'll see how that goes.

That's quite a move—first to Indonesia, and the back! I don't know much about it, but I would imagine that there would be some things you would be giving up to live there. The fact that your children are remembering much more the good times over the hardships can be chalked up to their ages and their self-awareness perhaps, but really, it should also boil down to good times. :)

Work is a hard thing anywhere. Finding the one that provides you what you need without sucking away life and soul isn't easy. It should be the means to a better life, but too often, it becomes life.

As a parent, I can't blame you for wanting opportunities that are stable, better paying, and able to provide for your family. It's not all fun and games, even if it should be. :)

re: wedding ring

Good choice. Interesting that it's a gift, though. I take it you didn't purchase it then?

re: blue

Blue is hard to beat. Lots of shades are great. I tend toward darker blues than I do lighter.

re: want something more

That seems to be the consensus that's building. Work toward goals, improving, bettering yourself or situation, but don't lose sight of what you do have and always appreciate it.

Looks like you are doing a great job in the engagement category. You won my follow because I can see that you are here to engage.

For as much as we had to give up when we first moved there, it felt like we gave up more to move back to the States. I am so glad that my kiddos think so fondly of that time in our life.

My wife purchased my ring (I think so away). Even if it is technically not a gift is a great symbol and reminder of the life I have and an encouragement to strive towards a better life (one that does not kill off your soul).

Have a blessed day. See you around the Steem community!

Well, I appreciate that. I've been a member of @abh12345's Curation and Engagement League since late March of last year. Really changed my perspective of what I was here to do and how I could accomplish it. So, engaging is definitely something I want to do, and it would be nice to entice more people to do it on my blog, along with me venturing out to the posts of others.

re: ring

Well, that sounds like a gift to me. :) It is a great symbol and reminder. Well said.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52