Your questions, my answers!

in #community7 years ago

As announced, I'm answering your questions about me as a mini-celebration of me reaching a reputation of 70!

When I first started Steemit, I never thought I'd get this far - especially not in under 6 months! Because of this, my introduction post(s) were not very detailed. This changes now - a bit at least.

23633302_1395379513923264_1025411249_o.jpg


And now, to your questions:

I don't know, but I think I heard a loud noise when I broke the sound barrier.

I like my chicken cut into pieces, lightly fried in olive oil and then mixed with parmesan cheese, pine nuts, basil and a vinegar/olive oil dressing. :P

The inspiration usually comes while writing. Honestly, most of the time I just sit there and let the story unfold. It usually works but I have deleted finished stories more than once because I thought they sucked.

As much aluminium as you can fit in there!

Spotify recommended this to me in my last weekly mix and it immediately went on my daily playlist.

Wrong! My feet are gigantic, size 41 (Europe). And my favorite kind of toothpaste is the cheap one that tastes like herbs. That's really all I care about and my dentist doesn't complain so it must be alright.

It sounds cheesy but: Happiness. Because success is kind of worthless if you're not happy.

Hm, I don't know, I've been a very picky eater until recently. I think I'd really like to experiment more with Asian cuisine, as I usually only get the "European" version of it where they mash all the cultures together and serve it to you as "Asian food".

Maybe all barbers get together once a week and make a shave circle?

My favorite book ... tricky. I'd nominate the whole "Discworld" series by Terry Pratchett. That man was an absolute genius. TV show is definitely "Heroes", favorite game is probably Mass Effect (1-3) because that series ripped my heart out.

What do I hope to achieve? I hope to spend my life in a way I enjoy, doing something that I love and have a passion for. Money isn't my main concern, not by far. I just can't stand the thought that I might be stuck in a job I hate by the time I'm 40.

Germany and I study Biology with the focus on Human - and Molecular Biology (Genetics).

Two and a half (German, English and horrible French). My favorite language is probably Italian because it just sounds very good.

My political leaning is "Ffs could you all please just get your shit together, form one giant country and stop this nation nonsense. People are dying and nobody cares about what name you give to a "Christmas market""
(Short explanation: There are constant rumors that the German "Christmas markets" are being named "winter markets" or something and people are outraged. I honestly couldn't care less, as those events are for pure profit and have nothing to do with religion, not anymore.)

I'm just waiting for that chip in my brain that lets me download all the information I want. To my endless delight, this dream is becoming reality faster and faster it seems.

Start out small. If people don't know you already, it's unlikely they'll read a 5000-word story. Break it down for them and don't do too many parts. Aside from that, it's the usual advice: Write, write, write!

No, that's a lab coat in my picture.

**********************************

I appreciate comments at any point in time! Enjoy your read :)

No, English is actually my third language, I'm a native German speaker, born in Germany and raised there too.
But thank you for the compliment! :D

Genetic Engineering

I've always been pretty fascinated by science stuff. My mom got me a "National Geographic - Kids" subscription when I was 9 or so, which was a great decision.

Being a student and writing stuff on here. I used to supervise the zoology practical for the first semester students and worked with the lab mice but I don't have the time for that anymore.

The first one was already answered above but combines perfectly with the second question. Still, the discworld novels (it's impossible to pick just one) and Sir Terry Pratchett is truly the kind of person I strive to be.

The ability and willingness to aggressively bond with literally anything. That apex predator is eating our children? Let's turn it into our best friend and call it dog!
The vacuum robot doesn't work as it should? Don't blame him, he's doing his best and we love him!

Also the whole concept of pet stones. Seriously, humans bond with anything and it's the best thing ever.

Belgium, the Netherlands, France, Luxembourg, Austria, Slovenia, Italy, Spain, Greece, England, and Ireland are all the countries I've visited. I think I enjoyed Greece the most. Loved the food and the people there.

Sometimes English, sometimes German, mostly a weird mix of both. I prefer to swear in English for some reason, even if I do it mentally. Especially then.

As soon as I've powered down and sold every last Steem of mine, of course!

Consistent quality, posts that don't already exist a hundred times and connecting with people. Especially the last bit. When I first joined Steemit, I spent almost the entire first 2 months on steemit.chat talking to other users. I wouldn't be where I am today without the support of others. Steemit is a social network, after all, you need to be social if you want to succeed!

There are two scenarios to consider:

  1. Me sending something back in time has always been a part of history, it doesn't change anything. This would kill all the fun of sending something back so I probably wouldn't.

  2. Me sending something back in time changes history. I've watched "Butterfly Effect" and won't risk that.

Guess the past is not getting anything from me!

That comment was last minute!

Once I have my degree I will probably try to find some work for 2 years (ideally in a medical field) and after that, apply for the Master's program I want to do. Then maybe PhD and I'll see where I'll get from there.

No, I don't do 100% SP posts (I might do in the future, who knows?). For my Master's degree, I will need a significant amount of money. The smartest way to accumulate that is to slowly withdraw the SBD I'm earning. All of it goes on a bank account I won't touch at all until I need it to pay for my degree.

I won't power down tho, not before I decide to leave the platform. My SP stays right where it is and is used to upvote others, especially those in the science community.

Sort:  

Congrats! I don't know if you were the fastest but it was fast.

Half a face is better than no face, nice to not just see the green braid. Congrats @suesa

Thanks for answering my question. Now I could sleep easy 😀

Good! About time! :P

With all you said. I think you have a nice personality. I now have to go recheck something now... Thanks for the encouragement on the science community. Thanks a lot

What do you need to recheck?

When i saw fiction included in your bio, i actually never thought you had such dreams for education.

Once I have my degree I will probably try to find some work for 2 years (ideally in a medical field) and after that, apply for the Master's program I want to do. Then maybe PhD and I'll see where I'll get from there.
I went to check if i added you to my list of 'potential intellects' I mostly read and learn from people I put in that category.

I've loved writing and fantasy books since I was able to write and read and it just stuck ^^ But writing books is not the ideal source of income and can also become very, very lonely. So I'm pursuing an education I enjoy and write whenever I have the time :)

That's great. Wish you good luck.

Not seen your science challenge contest in a while, do you plan to start it again ?

As soon as I have a good idea for a topic and the energy to go through with the whole thing! :)

I didn't get a chance to ask a question but most of mine were answered through this read. Thank you for sharing tips on writing... Though my style differs from yours (I am nowhere near your skills and I usually scribe personal journeys through poetry or what most people call 'dark') I am grateful you shared.

I think making friends here is essential but also harder than most people would agree. Other factors also matter but I won't indulge in them to avoid sounding negative. It requires patience especially if you are closed up.

Congrats on your achievements. I believe you deserve them. Also... Thank you for your endless support and guidance to many like I :)

This is great @suesa reading it all!

@suesa That was a fabulous AMA! Thank you!

@suesa This was worth every minute :) Best wishes!

Excited to know more...I'm new to this community and try hard to understand it i guess its a part of science too through learning process..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50