Quarantine Activities - Making Face Masks

in #community4 years ago

Isolating ourselves is the best way to beat coronavirus. Self or mandatory quarantine, doesn’t matter, it must be done. Now we are suggested or maybe required? to wear face masks, for added protection. I don’t know how effective they are, but I know it is better than nothing. At least by wearing a mask you are showing that you are aware of what is going on and you remind others to keep the social distance and practice common sense hygiene. At least this is how I think.

Anyways... I am making masks for me, my family, my friends and neighbors. I don’t have a sewing machine, so I sew by hand. I know my masks are durable and they can be washed and re-used. I am thinking to figure out another way, to glue instead of stitch by hand, but those mask will get destroyed by washing. We’ll see.

Here are my first masks:

DB4CCADA-BBF5-4B6D-B28B-84A37A73956E.jpeg

The first one is for my daughter, I glued a smile on it, to cheer her up. The mouth is a cutout from a makeup bag I found in her drawers. I watched many YouTube tutorials to learn how to do it, and I figured out how to make a pocket, so we can insert a filter. I put a piece a coffee filter inside, I will have to come up with a better idea. They say vacuum filters are good, but I don’t have any. Anyways, the mask is good, the front is made from another make-up bag, water resistant fabric.

BE177615-5338-4919-BF81-475833A7B514.jpeg

The second one is made from a polyester mask that I bought online and it doesn’t give any protection whatsoever. I paid $20 for a pack of 3. I decided to re-inforce it by using a foam from a bra cup. It is ok, but not fitting the face properly. No filter either.

865070E7-BB5E-4E8A-941A-EFEEB24A5441.jpeg

I wear it when I go in the park for a little walk, if I go.

6B2CABAB-6969-4A17-86BE-59EBFFA05AE0.jpeg

The third one is the prototype for the pattern. I made it from scratch, by measuring my face, so it can fit perfectly. I changed the elastic part, so it doesn’t hurt the ears. It has a large pocket for a filter or even a regular surgical mask. It has a wire to fit on the nose.

A2831EEC-6DA4-4230-A59F-111595305564.jpeg

I found some nice water repellent fabric and I will start making these masks. I have some elastic too. Let’s see how much pinning my fingers can take. See you soon!

Stay Safe My Friends

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

steemusabanner.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85