You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎉Two More And I Will Hit 🍻1500 Followers! That Calls For A Giveaway!🎉

in #community6 years ago (edited)

If you only have 300 followers in 5 months, you are not spending enough time in the over 250+ niche steem related discord communities or steem chat. Using communities, I had several hundred followers my first week, by simply getting to know people. Quality friends, still with me, as I near 3K followers 10 months in. It took getting out there to the communities and getting engaged and being engaging. It took work. Lot's of it. Contrary to the claims this place is about starting a business and marketing it. That business is you and your personal brand. At 5 months and only 300 followers and still at rep 47, that tells me many of your followers are low rep and cant help you increase yours, nor will their votes be worth much.

You need to go sell your product (your blog/yourself) if you want to get anywhere here. Hate to see you end up in a couple months saying, well that didn't work, and quitting. Which ive seen thousands of users do who didn't understand you basically just arrived in the equivalent of New York City, and opened an independent pizza shop on a street with 50 more up and down the block just like yours, and to stand out, you need to out market them and build solid relationships. Which doesn't happen by accident or organically here without waiting years and gaining a big list of bot followers that pick your name up from comments and posts. You need humans, and thousands of them are waiting to discover you and be discovered in communities that fit your interests in discord. That's where the action happens. It ain't gonna happen sitting out here on the blogs, even if you are Earnest Hemingway wrapped in a wordpress theme over here.

It just doesn't work like that in this environment.
Good luck!

Sort:  

I'll see your "this is just how it is around here" and raise you a "LOL", because that's always my response to that silly idiom. Nah, it's however I want it to be around here, because "here" is my page, my posts, and my finances.
Normally when giving financial advice on the internet (like this), we say things like "I am not your financial advisor" as a disclaimer. Because we can't possibly know how best to invest or manage another person's money (or time, or posts, or comments), unless we really know them inside and out. Their financial adventures and misadventures, their current situation, their goals, and so on. You know 4 things about me (months on Steemit, number of followers, number of steem, and reputation), which isn't even 10% of my "current situation". You don't know the intricacies you would need to know to offer useful advice.
You've offered advice you would like to send back in time to YOURSELF when you signed up. It's no good to me, and likely no good to anyone else either.
But good luck to you, too!

Well, Ive built multi-thousand member communities here, two 24/7 streaming news and entertainment stations that service the community, a worldwide charity known throughout the entire chain for serving a couple thousand people in a dozen countries with fundamental human needs and been a witness running your blockchain for nearly a year. I've onboarded members all around the world in person in 6 countries on three continents while travelling, and answered questions from literally thousands of members, hundreds a day over the past ten months.

You can waste your time here, that's your prerogative, but that is exactly what your stated position leaves you doing.

I actually AM one of the people considered an expert on this chain, how it works and what is to be done here, and I've built and directed multi-million dollar social networks for a career living at times during my 35 year tech career. So you go ahead, and do whatever, but your blog will languish as it is already, so why even bother at all?

I know four things about you that are awfully distant from your original post.

"I'd like to enter your contest for the SBD, and the reason I would like that over the others (even though the round is awesome) is because I'm trying to power up and grow as much as I can right now, and meet my goal of being able to withdraw a small income in 52 weeks. :D
Every bit counts, especially early on, to help with the compound growth I'll need to make it happen."

I've told you how to do it in like a month or two, but go ahead, don't take the advice. I can assure you with some historic certainty though, that if you don't take it, you will not achieve your goal. Been here and done this WAY too long, being the coach for way too many thousands (this is not hyperbole, i was former leadership in PAL from 20 members to over 5000 we handled personally daily as they arrived confused and new, and got them successful, they are all around you right now. and now that community has over 11K people in it) of new users to tell you anything but that stark reality.

So you can listen to wisdom of an "elder" or ignore it, that generally works out well for those that take the second option...

Heheh, well I won't embarrass you with a list of MY accomplishments.
And you clearly missed my point, which is that your opinion is useless to me because my goals are different from yours.

If you goal is to fail your stated 52 week intention, you are on the right track, keep doing what you are doing. If you'd like to succeed and sooner to boot, the person with experience here has provided the instructions.

Your accomplishments outside here do not apply here, unless they too were building very very very similar software and even then most ordinary rules don't apply here, and only someone with the right expertise would know which ones.

You've been offered guidance and advice that WILL achieve your STATED goal. As said, go ahead and ignore it. You will find in six months by doing so, though, you are barely even incrementally further toward your goal.

It's fact. Known from an incredible load of first hand experience. Experience you are arguing with. Good thing I'm not a driving instructor, I'd leap as far from your vehicle as I could, if you ignored the guidance on how to do that from a professional instructor too.

Thanks for reaching out to my buddy! He is a lot like you... ;)

Except I took advice as a noob from more experienced people, who are respected platform wide, when they took valuable and very rare time, and offered it.

I hear ya' - but I also know drutter is a really good guy. Makes me a little sad to see you two bump heads.

Makes me sad when arrogant noobs who have no concept of what is going on here, turn down probably the most solid advice from probably one of the top ten most trusted voices on the platform too.

/shrug. I wish him luck, but he's gonna get schooled with his 'tude.

Maybe he will take advice from you on that?

Nope, but 'tood is a good thing sometimes. He just deployed it incorrectly this time. I have told him he needs to get into discord too. I just TRY not to let it bother me when people ignore my advice. Being the smartest kid in class got me used to having everybody run to me for answers. Now there is not daily test showing everyone around me that I am smarter than them... so they just don't care what I say any more lol! I had to learn to not care whether or not they care. I watch the karma bus... she rolls. Not always when or how I want, but it generally gets the job done.

Hehe, well, if I tell you not to touch the stove, cause it's hot, and you say. "you don't knooow me" and proceed to burn the shit out of yourself...

I'm gonna laugh :) Cause at that point, you done screwed up, pardner.

Yep. It is all you can do. Some of us learn best by trial and error, and those of us with a bent toward teaching can have a hard time watching the "error" play out!
I did tell drutter he ought to listen to you. He probably will, eventually.

No such thing as an accident. All accidents are preventable. Unless stubbornness is engaged. In that case, hope you hurt that wall you hit, more than it hurts you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55789.30
ETH 2345.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31