My computer work intro , per @nedspeaks FOR THE HOMESTEADLIFE COMMUNITY ON STEEMIT: #THL: WHO AM I

in #community7 years ago

The best part of Steemit so far has been meeting awesome people!

I have been posting and learning for just over a week now. It is a blur sometimes, because I don't know anything about crytocurrencies and this is a whole new language and culture for me.

My background in computers is great, but I don't understand all the technology that is being used here at Steemit

I have been on the internet "forever", and worked in training and customer service even since before the internet helping people use computers.

My bachelor's degree was in Theater - University of CT in 1979. I have used that experience and those talents online and in the communtiy at large by having a radio program, a series of video interviews and having a long running series on Blog Talk Radio. Turns out that my improvisational acting experience is great for interviews.

I finished my Master's Degree in 1981 from the University of CT as well. I studied Educational Psychology and Counseling.

cpm.bmp.jpg

A few years after that, I went to a technical school for computer programming, and worked for an online service called Agri Data resources doing customer service and sale, then I went to work for Lanier where I supported customers with their accounting program based on CP/M!!

AppleMac1984b.jpg

I went to work for Apple Corporate out of the Chicago regional office and had a blast. Things were fun and exciting there in 1983 and on. We were always travelling to Cupertino for training and meetings, and the big kick off for the 1984 commercial in Hawaii was epic. I worked with supporting and training big corporate clients in the Midwest, as well as the University accounts in Wisconsin, and the K-12 accounts who used the Apple 2E.

After I left Apple, I worked for SAS Institute in Cary, NC selling their Statistical Analysis system on pc's , mid range computers, mainframes and super computers. I moved to Southern CA when they started opening regional offices, and loved living in Irvine. My clients were Pharmaceutical companies, Universities like Sanford and Berkely, and Government labs like Lawrence Livermore Labs. I had fun, but the crowds that I spoke to and the statisticians were very different personalities than the Macintosh users. It made me a more rounded person.

th.jpg

My husband and I moved back east to live near my parents, who had moved to Pennsylvania. Since 1992, I was a real estate broker who taught other agents to use computers and social media when it came out. I was also a Hypnotherapist with a radio show and more. When social networking and then social media came out I taught classes and gave speeches at companies, associations and events to help people learn how to use the new tools in their businesses.

So, this is a bit about my history especially with computers. I have done lots and lots of different things. I have always considered myself a Renaissance woman!

f I am so Grateful!.png

Images are either taken by me, in my personal collection from family, or have "license free to use, share, or modify - even commercially", or are sourced from website with attribution below.

sources:

Learning image above from https://c1.staticflickr dot com/9/8673/15903347764_95f9ebd007_b.jpg

CP/M graphic from http://www.trs-80 dot com/wordpress/cpm/

Apple image from 1984 from http://www.boxing4free dot com/retro/AppleMac1984b.jpg

Social Media graphic from http://crummymedia dot com/all-the-worlds-a-social-media-stage/

Sort:  

Sally nedspeaks here. Thankyou for this post.
I just returned from a trip and starting to lay down some thoughts on plans for the community. Thankyou for joining. You will hear from us again.

Great @nedspeaks. I look forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90