First blog post!

in #community6 years ago

I have been thinking a lot about building something with the blockchain and helping people who build communities find ways to sustain themselves while they are providing that service. It seems as though as the communities that develop some sort of content are the ones that can sustain themselves long term. Those that do things from the goodness of their hearts cannot last for very long as that goodness wears thin after a while. The passion can die off, and then they are left wondering, "Why am I doing all this work for very little return?"

Therefore, I plan on exploring this technology space and find a way to make it worthwhile for community builders to make some sort of living off of the work they do bringing people together and making things happen. I have been building communities for over four years, and I believe it is time for something to change in that process. If people find value in something, they should be able to pay for it in some way, and communities cannot grow without some sort of lifeblood. Unfortunately for us in the US, that lifeblood is money.

But if the money is in the form of cryptocurrency... then that opens some doors. Whatever I come up with, I plan on sharing this journey because I believe what I learn from my struggles will help someone else.

Thank you all for reading this short bit of an idea I am brewing. There will be more to come, and I am looking forward to exploring this platform and making a place here. Let's work together to build a better Internet!

Sort:  

Congratulations @propagandapanda! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Isn't the Steemit itself a model on which to base your solution? It isn't a tightly integrated online community but I'm a noob here.
Do you mean instead an IRL local community?

Yeah, I mean an IRL local community as well as online communities. I think these days, you cannot have one without the other.

I have had similar conversations with a friend of mine.

Congratulations @propagandapanda! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58