Apply yourself

in #community6 years ago

Have you tried some plumbing, electrical work, welding, carpentry or anything out of your comfort zone.

I have had to take care of quite a few things that took me way out of my scope of expertise. What do you do if your dad died when you were very young, you grow up, you buy a car, you run out of money but the car needs to be serviced. Well hell you read a book on basic petrol engine service which turns out to be very easy in most cases as it entails changing the spark plugs, fuel filter, oil filter, oil and checking the thickness of the brake pads and if those need changing it's also not rocket science if you read the book or these days you check google and someone on youtube will show you how.

Pretty much the same with all the first lot of things I mentioned, you can learn to do anything. That's if you want to, many people these days are becoming experts at playing victim only. This is now the same bunch that can learn to work a new phone, tablet, pc or TV in no time, but can't change a lightbulb. How shameful.

There are some folks on steemit that apply themselves and move forward and upward at a steady and some a little more than steady pace and then there is the I just can't cut it crowd. You bloody well can cut it, just apply yourself. I don't write the best pieces and am not getting much for my work yet, but it's my work, it's who I am and it's honest. That is good enough so get off your arse and get writing and applying yourself.

Now put up a post and get some R&R

I put music in most posts because I love music, it's often random so don't go nuts

Improvise Adapt & Overcome

Sort:  

but it's my work, it's who I am and it's honest.

That is the only criteria for good work, in my opinion.

I would much prefer reading something with feeling that sounds like the person who wrote it than reading something any generic person could have written.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86