Top 3 Ways to Keep Your Resolution

in #community7 years ago

It's nearly the New Year and the resolutions are about to begin! Someone recently told me that less than 10% of people who make New Year's resolutions actually achieve them. I'm looking forward to a lifestyle change in my spending habits and my relationship to my community so I think I'm in it for the long haul. Nevertheless, here are the top 3 things I'm doing to help me keep my New Year's resolution that you can do, too!

[Image from publicdomainpictures.net - CC0 Public Domain]

1.) Be realistic.

My resolution is to spend my money only at local retailers for all of my needs for 2018 so that I'm exclusively benefiting my local economy. I've spent the last few weeks making sure that this is possible for me in my situation and in my community. Fortunately, it is for me but this may not be the case with your initial resolution. Take the time to sit down and actually think through the ramifications of your resolutions to give yourself the best chance of success.

2.) Be specific (but not too specific).

Finding the right parameters for your resolution is kind of like the story of Goldilocks and the Three Bears. Too vague and you'll not be clear on what you're doing. Too specific and it can get too restrictive. The most successful resolutions will be "just right" for you.

3.) Be prepared to fall short.

Most people do it, so you should be prepared to do it, too. Just because you fall short of perfection doesn't mean that you should give up all together, though. Pick yourself up, re-evaluate numbers 1 and 2 on this list, and keep going. January 1st is just a day and you can restart the effort to better yourself any time you want.

[Image from publicdomainpictures.net - CC0 Public Domain]

Do you have a resolution this year? If so, what are you doing to give yourself a better chance of success?

Sort:  

Be Prepared to fall short....That makes so much sense. I never really thought about that actually being a resolution, it's like saying that it is ok to move two steps forward and one step back. Expect it

Exactly. If you expect perfection, you're going to be disappointed.

Happy New Year! This article has been included in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you!

Follow me back and upvote please

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33